REVIEW – An Improbable Truth: The Paranormal Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

sha_final1The last Sherlock Holmes story I read was in my AP English class, and it was too long ago to remember. All I can recall is that I liked The Hound of the Baskervilles and A Study in Scarlet, but I never wanted to go back and read more. So, when I heard about this anthology, I was a tad skeptical that it would rekindle my love for Sherlock Holmes. Boy, was I wrong.

It’s hard to say which story was my favorite, since there’s a smorgasbord of fun and excitement going on here. Or rather, to borrow a line from the books, it’s “a monstrous, writhing conglomeration of darkness and grotesqueries,” but in a deliciously good way. There were some stories I liked more than others, but none of the stories were enough to deter me from wanting to read more. Also, I love paranormal stories with a hint of mystery in them. So for me, this was perfect. But what I loved most was how each of the authors pulled it off to the point that I felt like I was right there battling evil while getting the life sucked out of me at the same time. Yes, it was that much fun. If you like paranormal, you’ll love this anthology. If you’re not a fan of Sherlock Holmes, this might change your mind and make you want to seek out more. I don’t know if there will be a book 2, but if there is, you can sign me up.

Rating: A-

Get a copy from Amazon: Print, eBook

Leave a Reply

