Old Stomping Grounds

magic book1 - croppedToday, I did something that I hadn’t done in so long that I forgot how to do it.  I put together submission packages and sent them out.  Yes, I actually queried a publisher again and I’m not done with my submission list yet.

I’m doing what I like to do, which is write.  However, I don’t have any beta readers and I’m not about to pay $50+ to edit a story that’s 13,157 words.  My decision to submit it (and hopefully its sequel) is more of a business decision than anything else. If it’s the right epublisher, they’ll have a larger, more established readership than I have now.  I’m willing to give up a percentage of the $0.35 I’d normally make by self-publishing on Amazon or Barnes and Noble, if it means possibly gaining a larger fan base.  Plus, epubs have the editing and cover art resources that I don’t feel like paying out-of-pocket for.  And no, I’m not a good schmoozer when it comes to rubbing elbows for favors.

Of course, if worse comes to worse, self-publishing is always an option, if things don’t pan out like I hope.  Honestly, I’m not that jaded when it comes to epubs as much as I’m with NY publishers, and that’s because of ridiculous contract clauses make me grind my teeth.  With epubs, there are more freedoms and author input.  Plus, I haven’t had any bad experiences with any of my epubs who started out as epubs.  Yes, I had to italicize that for a reason.  😉

Writers have so many options these days that it’s a great time to be a writer, as Dean Wesley Smith and JA Konrath would say.  In the end, I’m doing what’s best for my business and hoping it pays off.  If it doesn’t, all is not lost.  There is definitely an upside to playing both fields.

So in case you’re wondering what this story is about, it’s a fantasy romance that takes place in an alternate world of witches, elves, and vampires.  Although, I wouldn’t be surprised if someone decided to shelf this in paranormal romance because of the hero.  I’m fine either way.  I just hope readers enjoy reading it as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it.  Eventually, I’ll share the details, but I’ll wait until I get good news to go with it.  Although, I guess the best news of all is that it’ll be published no matter what.

Yeah, it’s a great time to be a writer.  🙂

Leave a Reply

