REVIEW – The Hunger Games

So yes, I’m behind the hype.  Honestly, I don’t follow hype, so it took me forever and a millennium to finally get around to reading The Hunger Games.  Not only that, but the last hype I tried to follow after a long hiatus, I got screwed royally–Twilight–and vowed never to do it again.  I won’t say The Hunger Games has changed my attitude, but it has made me loosen up on my restrictions.  🙂

Oh, and did I mention I had a coworker who harassed the hell out of me to read it?  😆

Yes, The Hunger Games was just that good.  Heck, it was the best damn story I had read in a long time and one I’d place right up there with Bitten by Kelly Armstrong.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’m not into dystopian stories YA or otherwise, and although, I absolutely loved this book, it’s not enough to change my mind.  For me, THG was more a sci-f than dystopian.

I’m not going to go into the details because there are enough reviews on the internet that you can get a summary, if you’re really looking for one.  However, I will say this: I loved learning about the different districts across Panem, including the silliness of the Capitol, and poor District Thirteen.  Before you say anything, I’ve already read the synopsis on Wikipedia, so I know what happens.  Oh, and did I mention how much I loved the mutations?  Totally cool!

So about Katniss.  First, I hate her name.  Second, I love her character.  Talk about a chick who actually has some sense.  Yeah, she makes mistakes, as done anyone.  Nobody’s perfect.  But what I liked about Katniss the most is her resourcefulness.  She’s smart enough to play the game like it should be played while hardly losing her morals in the process.  If anything, she was a better person because of it.

As for Peta, he got on my nerves a little bit, but I liked him enough to not count him out just yet.  Cinna–I have no idea why people thought he was gay.  Just because a guy can dress a girl to make heads turn doesn’t necessarily mean he’s gay.  I know a couple of  straight guys who enjoy shopping for their wives along with busting open a can of beer by the BBQ grill while they’re frying up steaks.  Anyway, I’m going off on a tangent.  Rue, absolutely adored her.  I think I even liked Fox Face.  I think if had to be a character in the book, I’m most likely be like Fox Face, where I’d try to survive without confronting anyone.  Of course, those of us who read the book know how she turned out.  😉

So does this mean I’ll go see the movie?  Probably after it comes out in DVD.  I have only been to a movie once, since my little one was born, which means it’ll be on DVD by the time I’m ready to go again.  I definiately want to pick up Catching Fire, but not at the hardcover prices people are asking for.  Sorry, but I don’t buy hardcover books.  The story won’t change from hardcover to soft cover or to e-book, so why pay $12.99 for it when I can get it at $5.99 on Kindle?  The reviews are mixed on Mockingjay, so I’ll have to see how book #2 turns out before I decide to buy that one, too.

Yes, I know.  I’m weird like that.  😉

Grade: A

 

 

Leave a Reply

