No More Cancer

Yes, that’s picture says it all.

You see, about a few weeks before my aunt (my grandmother’s sister) was about to move from upstate NY to the Atlanta suburbs, she was diagnosed with lung cancer.  It scared our family because she was much loved and was in her eighties.  We worried about how she’d do with all of the chemo and radiation that faced her.   To be honest, I was hoping for the best while trying to prepare myself for the worst.  A part of me didn’t want to see her after she moved down to Atlanta because I was worried that she wouldn’t be the same woman who I remembered and proudly called my second grandmother.

Well, I wasn’t too far off the mark.  Aunt Helen wasn’t doing good and she spent most of her time feeling nauseous and having a hard time interacting with the family.  Still, it was a good Thanksgiving and I was glad I went.  Even more important, I  was glad she got to spend some time with Little Bit.

Thankfully, she’ll be spending a lot more time with her great grandniece.  Aunt Helen is FREE and CLEAR of that rat-bastard called cancer!!!  I can’t tell you how thrilled I am, let alone hold back the tears of joy.  I’m telling you, if you ever got a chance to meet my aunt, you’d love her.  She’s the type of person that can get along with anyone and will have you rolling on the floor in laughter.  We’re looking forward to spending a lot more years with my aunt because she’s simply the best.  🙂

I’m hoping next year that we’ll be able to take her on a cruise to celebrate her first year of being cancer free.  If all goes well–and she leaves the cigarettes alone–we’ll be somewhere in the tropics enjoying family and the precious gift of life.

5 thoughts on “No More Cancer

  1. What lovely news! Every time I hear someone kicks cancer’s butt, I feel hopeful for the rest of the world that has to live with that and other destructive illnesses. I’m hoping for the day when we no longer have to celebrate these kind of wins because the cancer will be so easy to defeat 😉

  2. I’m with you, Magaly. One of these days, cancer will be beaten back into whatever hell hole it came from. All it takes is one person to find a cure that will turn into as much of a threat as the common cold.

  3. I’m so glad to hear about your aunt, Marcia. 🙂 Here’s to many more years!

    And most of us have been affected by cancer in some way. Whether it be friends or family–or even us as individuals. Someday there’ll be a cure.

Leave a Reply

