No 2011 Recap Here

Everyone is talking about 2011 recaps on the blogosphere.  I’m not because I don’t care to recap 2011.  It’s not that it was a bad year.  In fact, it was better than I expected.  I’ve had tons of fun starting up Dusk Till Dawn Books, watching my little one grow to an astounding two-years old, and seeing my day-job career hit heights I never thought possible.  My gut is telling me that 2012 is going to be an equally amazing year for me, so let’s forge ahead already.

Of course, there are a few things that need to be said about 2012.  🙂

Let’s start with the 2011 tablet/ereader purchases.

If you’re like me, you’ve received either an ereader or a tablet for Christmas.  I’m expecting this to arrive at my local Walmart any day now.  🙂  Since my hot water heater shafted my plans to get a Nook Tablet, I started perusing the cheaper tablet line.  I can’t afford–and refuse–to put a lot of money in a something I haven’t had any experience with.  I’m betting I’m not the only one either.  So once we’ve had our experience and have a better idea of what we want, I wouldn’t be surprised if the number of ereader and tablet purchases increase.  The more the word gets out, the more confident people will feel about getting one themselves.

As for paper, again, I said back in this post that paper isn’t going anywhere and I stand firm on that.  Paper books will lessen just like the selection of authors to choose from.  Advances are shrinking for unproven authors and those sitting on the mid-list.  Agents and editors will scavage from the ebook successes that have hit lists on Amazon and Barnes and Noble to find their next client.  Of course, that’s going to cost them because those of us who are going indie or self-publishing aren’t stupid.  We know our bargaining power better than ever.

I have a feeling that readers are going to love the numerous choices they have these days.  They don’t care who the publisher is the format the book is published in.  They care about the story.

What kinds of stories readers wanting in 2012?

Your guess is as good as mine.  I don’t think paranormal is going anywhere anytime soon.  Yes, the market is crowded and a story needs to “stand out”, but standing out is in the eye of the beholder.

I wouldn’t be surprised if horror found a new audience with the whole zombie thing.  I don’t think people are into splatter for the sake of splatter or grossing out for the sake of grossing out.  People are smart and they want smart horror.  No more cars that won’t start, dying cell phone batteries as the killer is after their victim.  Oh, and if the idiot victim trips and falls, she deserves to die.

I think things like women’s fiction and contemporary romances are going to only get better and be in more of a demand.  They say erotica is flat right now, but I don’t foresee it staying that way.  Historicals have been a nice discovery for me this year, as well as YAs.  But, I think the demand for YAs will start to deflate because there is just too much right now.  Teens grow up and want more grown-up books.  Even my love for YA books has dropped off substantially because I want that more grownup read.

My hope is that sci-fi will take off.  I love sci-fi, but it’s hard for me to find stories that match the incredible story lines like Firefly, Star Wars, or ET.  I’m a huge Stargate fan, though not with Stargate Universe.  I’d love to find something that grabs me by the throat like Blade Runner or Road Warrior had.  But like I said, I just can’t find it.  One of my favorite movies of all time: Aliens.  I’d give ANYTHING to find something like that on the bookshelf.  So that’s why I say it’s my hope that something will emerge this year that will take readers by storm the same way Stephanie Meyers Twilight did.

What about audio books?

Honestly, I don’t have clue.  I haven’t invested enough time in researching that market yet and not sure I want to at this point.

So who’s going to win the ebook race?  Traditional, epubs, or self-pubs?

It’s easier to tell you who’s not going to win and that will be traditional.  They’re not going to lose either, but they’re late to the race and have a lot of catching up to do.  And, if they don’t do it right, then they will fail.  Epubs are going to be fine because they know what they’re doing and have been for the last 10+ years.  As for indies, we haven’t reached the cusp of our potential.  More mid-list authors are moving toward indie/self-publishing because they’re being dropped by their publishers.  Fans still want their stories, so they’ll answer the call and make more money than they could’ve ever imagined.  They’ll move away from their horrible 6% ( I think that’s what it is) royalty rate once they realize 70% is so much better.

Marcia, what will you be doing this year other than writing?

I’ll be trying to figure out ways of promoting Dusk Till Dawn Books as a whole and not as a book at a time.  That’s how other pubs like Samhain and Loose-Id do it and it’s worked very well for them.  Well…finding good books has, too.  😉

What kinds of hopes do you have for 2012?

2 thoughts on “No 2011 Recap Here

Leave a Reply

