Zombies Galore

Zombies are the new vampire.  For a very short while it was demons and then it somehow turned to angels, but nothing compares to zombies.  You see it everywhere these days and it was happening long before The Walking Dead came about.  The Walking Dead only made it worse.  And don’t get me wrong because I really love the show, especially the human interactions.  Also, Zombieland was absolutely fabulous!  And I’ll be the first to admit that I like Resident Evil, too.

But…I only do zombies in small doses.  For me, the constant onslaught of flesh-eating monsters and all their gore as they’re tearing humans apart has never grown beyond the shows and movies mentioned above.  And this is coming from a person who grew up on horror movies.  The thing that bugs me is there always seems to be a zombie book coming out or a movie on TV these days.  I think they’re as necessary to urban fantasy and horror world as vampires are, but that doesn’t mean I want to read about their particular world every time I turn on the TV.  And don’t think for a second that Halloween has anything to do with it because this has been a long-time coming.  Besides, the term “zombie” is being misused, thanks to George A. Romero.  Ghouls are the flesh-eaters while zombies are merely brought back from the dead via a Vodoun bokor.  Vodou has been around a lot longer than Romero.  But seriously, if someone wants to use both definitions, then they should come up with a word that fits correctly.  But could be me just me being anal.  😉

So, does everything have to be zombie-ized these days?  Are we such one-track thinkers to the point that we can only handle one “hot” thing at a time?  It’s no wonder the market becomes flooded so fast. Personally, I can’t wait until the zombie trend returns to normal levels.  The same goes with the dystopian frenzy.  I will always love the Mad Max movies, but I’m just not a fan of the apocalypse trope.  As a reader, I want things that are new and different or a new take on the old.  That’s the kind of stuff that will leave me drooling at the mouth for more.  What I wouldn’t give to see a phenomenal spin on The Creature from the Black Lagoon.  Hmmm…  Perhaps I should just write my own.  😉

Are you a zombie fan?  What about dystopian?

2 thoughts on “Zombies Galore

    • I agree, and that probably why I like The Walking Dead so much. It’s not about the zombies per se. It’s about the people who are trying to survive in the middle of a catastrophe and whether or not they’re going to let their moral fibers break. Sure, they have to have the gross-out factor because it’s zombies, but it’s like I’ve been telling everyone I talk to, it’s more than that.

      Oh, and don’t even let me tell you about the conversation I had with Lydia Dare about zombie romance and decaying body parts. That really crossed a line into zombiehood that I refuse to visit.

Leave a Reply

