Cancer, the Rat Bastard, Has Been Stepped On

The Gail Parkin’s Ovarian Cancer Run/Walk was a huge success!  More than $311,000 was raised the cause, which toppled their goal of $275,000.  I haven’t been this proud to be a part of something in a long time.  I feel GREAT!!

From the back from left to right, that’s Sabrina JeffriesHeather McCollum in the teal hat, me, Deb Marlowe, Erin Knightley, and Katherine Ashe having a good time on the trail.  Somewhere in the mix is Virginia Kantra.  She tried to catch up to us, but I think she had passed us somwhere along the way.  A huge thanks to Mari Freeman and Jennifer Harrington (CONGRATS on your sale to Bethany House!) for manning the HCRW booth for us.  There will be more pictures to come.  Thanks to the K.I.S.S. and Teal Authors from Avon for donating books, too.

It was raining when I arrived, but I didn’t care.  I got to fellowship with some fabulous authors and wonderful friends. We got cool tee shirts and free lunch courtesy of Chik-fil-A and Firebirds Mountain Grill.  There was pizza, too, but I can’t recall the name.  Anyway, thanks to them for providing food.  There were some cool craft booths, but I did a good job with not stopping and shopping or I never would’ve left the grounds.  Erin spotted this really nice decorated cigar box on one fo the tables that I would’ve loved to buy, but it didn’t look like it was on sale.

All in all, I had a great time and can’t wait to do it again next year.  😀

7 thoughts on “Cancer, the Rat Bastard, Has Been Stepped On

Leave a Reply

