It’s My Party and I’ll Write If I Want To

It’s really sad and probably a little self-centered–I know–but if I don’t post on my birthday, then when will I post, right? 😆 My only plans for today is to go to work at the day job, let Mom take me out to dinner, and hug and kiss Little Bit all day long. Although if I really wanted one birthday wish, it would be to win enough money in the lottery jackpot to quit my job and raise Little Bit and write to my heart’s content. So there you go. Oh, and we’re going to Sweet Tomatoes tonight where they don’t embarass you with a Happy Birthday song. With my luck, they’ll scare the munchkin so bad she won’t want to eat her food. Either that or the runt will think the celebration is for her. 😉

On the book front, I have someone critiquing Deadlier by the Dozen for me, which means I’ll be getting those edits back soon. Also, I should be working on Disappearance Hall right about now, but something else that has been on my back burner for a while has been haunting me for more than week. So, rather than work on one project, I’m splitting my time between two to see if one of them will become a frontrunner for my attention. Disappearance Hall is one of the projects and the other is…wait for it…Skinned, the next book in my Hunt Club series. Yayyyyyy!

There’s a slightly different spin on Skinned in that it won’t be Alexa’s story. Yes, you heard me right. It’ll be Genevieve’s, Alexa’s sister. It’ll take place a few months after Matt and Alexa were married and it’s set in a fictional beach town on the North Carolina coast. Oh, and I’ll be introducing a new creature, too, since I had so much fun with The Spider Inside Her. 😉

Disappearance Hall will also have a new creature introduced that’s sort of a mermaid spin-off, but not quite. By the time I’m done with this book, it will probably come off as a paranormal sci-fi. Ooooo, I can’t wait to see what happens.

So there’s my project list…for now. Keep in mind it could still change, considering Hazardous Environment has started to itch at the back of my brain, too.

So what’s on your wish list for your birthday?

8 thoughts on “It’s My Party and I’ll Write If I Want To

  1. Happy birthday again, you youthful thing!
    And yes, it is your birthday (and even if it wasn’t) you can do/write if you want to. It sounds like you are super busier, but in the best of way, so I’m happy for you. I’m sure your mom and Little Bit made your birthday a lovely experience. I’m wishing you many, many, many more and just as many books 😉

    • Happy belated birthday! I hope it was as fun as you had planned. I cracked up when you said that little bit might think the birthday celebration was for her. That’s exactly what happened at my birthday. When people sang for me, and Sunshine started clapping and beaming at everyone as if she thought we were celebrating HER. So, of course, we all looked at her and laughed and smiled, and it really did become about her. Which was just fine, because I’m not a limelight sort of person.

      • Happy Birthday Marsha! – sounds like it was a great day except maybe the day job thing :)!

        My birthday wish – not thinking about that yet – that’s the end of the year, mid-winter, we’re talking prairie winter! Something I don’t want to think about in the midst of a gorgeous summer.

        Love your project list – keep it up as usual your energy is inspiration for the rest of us.

      • LOL! That is *too* cute.

        Now that I think about it, my mom’s birthday is in September, so I think we’ll try the “singing” birthday party thing. My mom is like you, in that she doesn’t like the limelight, so she should be perfectly okay with that. And since she doesn’t read my blog, what she doesn’t know won’t hurt. 😉

    • Thanks, hon. 🙂 Oh, Little Bit made it memorable all right. She wanted a straw and by golly, she was going to get one even if it killed our eardrums. I think the folks at Sweet Tomatoes will never forget us. 😆

Leave a Reply

