Stupid Technology

One thing I hate about technology is it changes faster than my cost of living increase.  Sure I have a great increase with my promotion, but that doesn’t mean I want to drop every extra dime I have into keeping up with the times.  Unfortunately, the time has come.  😦

For starters, my netbook is acting up.  It’s going to die soon, and I’d rather I get a new one and transfer everything over before this one implodes.  Plus, I’ve seen the newest ones and they look so appetizing. 

On top of that our main laptop is acting like it’s on crack.  You hit certain keys the wrong way and the mouse decides it wants to skip off the page.  It drives us nuts.   So far, I’ve had between through IBM, Toshiba, Acer, and HP.  I think I’ll try Dell or Compaq this go around.  Although, Sony makes good looking laptops, too.

Then, there’s the lovely, ago-old debate of Kindle versus Nook.  Yes, I’m thinking about actually getting an ereader this year.  It’ll probably be more toward the end of the year because I’m hoping Christmas will have some serious impact on the prices.  As for which one, I don’t have a clue.  It’s going to require some serious play time to figure that one out.  Still, I’m open to the other contenders, too, as long as it’s not the iPad.  Sorry, but for $500 I can get both an ereader and a netbook and have enough cash to pay for the gas to get me to the store.

 So if you guys have any recommendations, I’d love to hear them.  After all, I’m putting together my 2011 wish list.  😉

5 thoughts on “Stupid Technology

  1. Good luck on your new laptop or netbook. I plan on buying the next new Kindle that comes around. Most of my sales come from Kindle, which is why I’ll buy from them.

  2. I adore my Kindle. I have to say, I wasn’t totally sold on it before I bought it but once I had it in my hands and started actually reading on it, I LOVE it. It’s so nice and light and easy. The battery lasts for forever and it’s just so thin and easy to hold. My parents both have Nooks and they like them a lot. I think you’ll be happy with either one of those!

  3. My Kindle sleeps next to me. I tried a Nook for a few weeks, and then a Kindle (I have really good friends who understand my cheapness needs to be based on research) Anyhoo, after a a few sleeping and reading with Nook and Kindle, the latter is my pick. I LOVE the guy… um, the ereader 😉

  4. I’m right there with you Marcia. I think I’ll get a e-reader this year. I don’t know which one yet. I think I’ll have to do some research before purchase. I’m surprised I’ve lasted this long before getting one. I am a gadget geek. I’ve got a netbook, laptop and desktop computer. I’ve also purchased a smart phone. (Soon after my cheap little phone couldn’t get someone’s messages at a certain writer’s convention:)

  5. This is sad to say for me. I bought an Android tablet and downloaded the Kindle and Nook apps. While I have a few books for the Nook, 90% are on Kindle. The sad part is I downloaded a few books for my wife that I thought she might like. Now I can’t get the tablet back! I’ve resorted to reading my latest Kindle books on my Droid.

Leave a Reply

