Reading, Writing, and Baby Butt Wiping

Being a first-time mom has been a fun, amazing adventure.  More so than any story can muster.  However, there comes a time when I just want to sit back and relax with a good book.  That doesn’t always happen with a sixteen-month old running around the house and getting into trouble. 

 The first time I tried to read to her, she was about two-months old and I was reading some sort of paranormal erotica while rocking her to sleep.  We didn’t have any “baby” books in the house and for some reason it never occurred to me to get any.  Baby Girl just wanted a story.  So, I improvised.  😀 

Anyway, my mom came into the room and asked, “Can’t you read something to my granddaughter that doesn’t have to do with the way she came into this world?”  My reply to her: “I could but this serves both our purposes.  She goes to slumber land, and I get a moment to indulge.”  The next day, my mom picked up bargain child’s books.

The reading situation in my house has completely changed since then.  I have even less time to read these days and Baby Girl doesn’t care about being read to as much as she does chewing on the edge of a book.  The funny thing is she keeps eyeballing the row of erotic romance on the top shelf of my bookcase.  I refuse to tell my mom about it because she’ll think I had damaged her in some way. 

Writing is another issue.  I have to steal what little time I can get.  If it’s for  fifteen minutes while she’s in the middle of snack time, I take it.  If the munchkin even sees me heading for the laptop, she’s hot on my heels and ready to jump my arm the second I raise my fingers to the keyboard.  As I type this blog, I’m lying on the couch with my netbook on the ottoman and typing with one hand.  Baby girl is sitting on my chest waiting for Blues Clues and trying to get my attention. 

Even though I’ve dedicated Bittersweet to my mom, the most amazing woman I know, part of me wrote it for my little one.  There are always lessons in stories, so I’m using my own words to teach her the various things I’ve learned during my time in this world.  I don’t know if I’m a good teacher or not.  I don’t even know if it’ll work.  But if I get my little one to read even one of my stories, I’m counting  it as a victory.  😉

12 thoughts on “Reading, Writing, and Baby Butt Wiping

  1. That’s what makes your last post so amazing – that you’re maintaining an ambitious writing schedule, a day job and most importantly raising baby girl – who is adorable. Re what she reads when she grows up – I can’t imagine that some day she won’t read every one of your books and be inspired all the way.

    BTW – I finally got my copy of Bittersweet and can hardly wait to begin!

    • Thanks, Ryshia. 🙂 By the way, I read Ring of Desire to her, too. I think she enjoyed it because she fell asleep. For an infant, that was a great sign that it did what it was supposed to do. At least, I had the pleasure of finishing the rest of it in peace. 😉

  2. I read Bittersweet the other day, and you have given BabyGirl a great role model… but maybe a little too good… If we don’t hear from you for a while after she’s older, someone may need to check the attic! 😉

  3. You are incredible! How do you do it? Day job. Mom. And you’re pumping out stories like nobody’s business. You’re keyboard must be on fire with smoke coming out of it, for those fifteen minutes of snack time! You’re my role model!

    • LOL! I have no idea. But I know I’ve already worn out too many keys to count on my keyboard. I think I know what I’m getting myself for my birthday in July. 😉

      Thanks for you kind words, hon.

  4. Oh, Marcia, I LOVE this! I, too, vividly remember reading scenes from my ‘adult’ books while nursing Sunshine to sleep when she was a month or two old. Even though I knew she couldn’t understand, it still made me a little nervous. (In this case it was a book for our book club, and it had strong violence that just felt weird to read to a little baby.) As for writing, I wish I were that good about taking all those little moments, but I do like to write uninterrupted, so I have to either wait for nap time or for hubby to take over. Somehow it gets done.

    • 😆 I’m so glad it’s not just me reading erotica to their little one. It made me nervous, too, but then I remembered one time I was watching a slasher movie on TV and forgot that she was chillin’ in my lap while we glided in the glider. I’m sure the visual was probably worse then the reading. By the time I realized she was watching the blood and gore along with me, half of the movie was already over. *sigh* I’m much more aware these days of what I watch.

      Somehow it gets done.
      I so know what you mean. While I love the moments with the little one, the writing won’t write itself. Although, I’ve been thinking more and more about Dragon Naturally Speaking to help me along.

      Hugs to you New Mommy, too! 🙂 BTW, I love the name Sunshine.

Leave a Reply

