Disappearance Hall and Other News

One thing about cannibalizing a novel is you never know what other corpses it’ll turn up.  A few weeks back when I posted my publishing schedule, I thought I could get Disappearance Hall done in April.  Not the case.  I had about a third of the book done when I decided to cut half of the remaining pages.  They just wouldn’t work for the new story.  So , I’m down to a total of 252 pages with more cuts coming and more new pages to write.  My best guess is that I’m halfway through my first draft and I’m not going to make April.  😦  May is still a possibility, but…

Something came up last week that could make the April cut, albeit late April.  Though it was a tough decision and one I didn’t take lightly, I’ll be publishing  The Spider Inside Her through Dusk Till Dawn Books.  It’s book #1 in my Cursed series and Deadlier by the Dozen is book #2.  Both of stories need another round of polishing before I can send them out to crit partners and/or my editor.  Not only that, but there’s a good chance that I can release them back to back.  If I do that, then it means Disappearance Hall won’t be in the hands of readers until possibly June or July. 

In essence, I have two books that both need polishing, but I can go through them faster than I can DH.  But…I’m having fun with DH right now and really want to see how my New Adult Paranormal turns out.  It would probably help if I knew which was selling better in terms of the market right now.  Dark Urban Fantasy or YA/New Adult Urban Fantasy?  *sigh*

So that’s where my writing life stand right now.  How about yours?

7 thoughts on “Disappearance Hall and Other News

  1. Just keep them coming! Can’t have too many good books on my shelf. You are definitely one busy woman. We get to reap the benefits though. Love your books.

  2. I’m having a hard time keeping up with you. What the heck is in your water down there? Seriously, keep it up Marcia, you’re an inspiration. As always, looking forward to the new reads.

    Oh and the question – What am I up to? Writing romantic suspense and at this minute ripping apart a book and finding the same challenge – there’s more pages hitting the bin than I first imagined.

    • Writing romantic suspense and at this minute ripping apart a book and finding the same challenge – there’s more pages hitting the bin than I first imagined.

      We’re both in the same boat. You know EXACTLY how I feel about Disappearance Hall. 😆 I had no idea I’d be throwing so much away until the end of the first third of the book. I should be heartbroken, but I’m not. I guess that’s a good sign that they needed to go. So keep that in mind as you toss things in the bin. 😉

Leave a Reply

