Acknowledgements

I didn’t put an Acknowledgement page in Bittersweet because…well…I didn’t want to.  I’ve always put Acknowledgements in my books, but I wanted to do something different, more intimate by using a Dedication page.  Not only that, but I had a long overdue Dedication to make and given the nature of Bittersweet, the timing was perfect. 

But, that doesn’t mean I can’t let it go without mentioning a few names, so  here it goes.

First, a huge thank you to my beta readers, Edie Ramer and Stacey Curtis.  Bittersweet wouldn’t be anywhere had it not been for you guys calling me to the plate.  Also, I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention my fabu cover artist Jax Cassidy.  This girl rocks!  Also, Lisa Hazard of Hazard Editing, thank you for doing a fantastic job with keeping my grammar on track and giving me the ah-ha moments during my critique.  Like Jax, you have a client for life as long as you’re willing to have me.   🙂  Also, a big thank you to my fans.  This book is for you more than anyone else.  For that, I thank all of the indie/self-published authors who came before me and convinced me that this might be one of the best decisions I’ve ever made with regards to my writing career.  To some of my favorite teens and pre-teens Allie, Syd, Colby, Jorden, Sara, Jackie, Paige, and anyone else who I might have forgotten to mention, I love you guys. 

So, there you have it. And if you missed it, check me out my video interview with the amazing Kalayna Price.  😉

What do you guys think about Acknowledgements?  Do you read them or skim over?

16 thoughts on “Acknowledgements

  1. Thanks for the shout out! You were a huge help to me, too.

    I just watched the video and you’re even more beautiful than I remembered–which was already gorgeous. It must be motherhood.

    • It’s long overdue, girlfriend. I can’t begin to tell you about the compliments I’ve had on the bookmarks you’ve designed. Speaking of which, I’ll need you to do some more for Bittersweet. 😀

  2. I’m terrible about reading Acknowledgements. There is certain awesome book where the author acknowledge me. I read the book; twice. I also wrote a review a couple of related post. I never noticed the Acknowledgements, someone had to point it out to me *sigh*. Dedications on the other hand, I tend to read every time. I think that it is because of how personal they are. I always appreciate when an author thanks her family, a special friend, a child, a lover… those words, especially when they are just a few thoughtful ones, are very powerful.

    And I just at the video. Sister! We better meet outdoors, when we do. I doubt our gazillion watts smiles will fit indoors.

    • Exactly! Dedications, to me, are a lovely reminder of those who mean the most to you in life regardless of who they are. They’re the ones that make your heart swell and tighten your throat. My mom did just that when she decided to uproot her life to take care of my little one. How could I not put Mom in the book? 🙂

      Oh, and as for the smile, you are too sweet. I LOVE smiling. IMHO, there aren’t enough of them these days.

    • That’s the main reason why I read acknowledgments. Even better, it’s interesting when you see an author with one agent in one book and another agent with the second one in the series. At that point, I’m all over their blog to see what happened. 😉

  3. Very nice acknowledgement, Marcia. I do read them, as a matter of fact. I find it interest (particularly after that author has a couple of books out) to see who’s left to acknowledge. LOL.

    • I find it interest (particularly after that author has a couple of books out) to see who’s left to acknowledge.

      😆 One time, I said to myself after reading an author’s umpteenth book, “Didn’t she already thank that person a few books back?”

  4. Just read Bittersweet, Marcia! Awesome!!!!! I love the story idea (and the story). I wasn’t too sure just how much I would like it at first with how intense the mother/daughter issues were, but you did a great job of grabbing my attention and not letting me shut off my reader. Yay!

    Love the world you created. I would like to read more. Not sure if you intend to keep it going, but I am very interested in The Hub and how Phae and Lucas turn out…. (just sayin…grin…)

    I mentioned it on my blog, too.

    Thanks for the great read.

    Tami

    • Tami, girl, you made my day, week, and any other time period I can think of. Thank you so much for the comments and for posting it on your blog. OMG, I’m so glad you liked it. 😀

      There will be more of The Hub in book #2. Am thinking about doing something a little different with Phae and Lucas, but we’ll see. 😉

  5. Well dang. Just looked at your website again to see what other books you have available and noticed you ARE doing a few more of these books. YAY!

    Just call me a dork….

    Tami 😉

    • LOL! One disclaimer. Disappearance Hall is a new adult novel that has nothing to do with Bittersweet.

      And no, you’re not a dork. Anyone who says otherwise, you send them to me. 😆

Leave a Reply

