My Project Plan for 2011

I’m calling this my year of indie-publishing.  When I look at the projects I have coming down the pipe, I decided to use Google Calendar to make myself a project plan.  I had to because I was losing track and wanted to get an idea of what I could accomplish.  Now, my poor calendar looks like a coloring book where every crayon in the box was used.  The good thing is it helped me sort things.

So here’s what my agenda looks like so far.  Things could change, depending upon time and other obligations (like our Disney World vacation in September).  Keep in mind, these are only ebook releases.  Depending upon sales, I might do print versions, too, which could impact the schedule.  I’m already planning to have a print version of Bittersweet available to sign for ConCarolinas.

Bittersweet – March 4th

Disappearance Hall – April/May

Secret Project #1 – June/July

Deadlier by the Dozen – August/September

Silent Scream – November/December

I think I know what your next question is.  What’s with the Secret Project?  Well…it’s a secret.  🙂  Truthfully, I named it that because I’m still debating on what I want to do with it.  If I decide to publish it, June/July is the best place to slot it.

Also, Half Breed sits in a precarious situation because I’ll be able to officially get my rights back this year.  So that means another book will go on my publishing  list.  Where to fit it is the question.  I don’t want to overcommit to anything, seeing as my schedule is already jam-packed.   

I know I know.  They say when it comes to self-publishing everything is totally up to you.  But I can’t help feel that I need to run this like a business, which means timelines, project plans, setting expectations, resourcing, etc.  Just call me institutionalized by The Man.  🙂

10 thoughts on “My Project Plan for 2011

  1. I’m hanging my head in underachiever shame! That’s a crazy number of books to put out there–but, it’s great. I’m under the impression that indie success comes from backlist. If I’m right, you’ll be on top in no time at all.

    I’m a Disney freak, so I get ridiculously, vicariously excited when people announce trips. I’m all a-twitter for you.

    • You put Resonance out there, so that makes you an achiever, too, girlfriend. 🙂 Yes, it’s a crazy number of books, but the only reason why I can put there out there is because I’m cannibalizing one book and bringing two complete ones back to the editing board. So essentially, those books are already written. Next year might be a different story.

      Oh, we so need to do a Disney trip together. Are you kidding me?? 😀

  2. You are busy…

    I think you are doing great running things like a business because IT IS a business.

    I think I need to go to your website again, but I can’t remember seeing Deadlier by the Dozen before. What a cool title.

    • Deadler by the Dozen is the second book in my Cursed series. It was disguised as a secret project, but I’ve since decided to publish it myself. It’s all about the doppelgangers. Not one, but about a dozen. All of them, psychopathic killers. 😈

  3. Wow, that’s impressive! You’ve taught me that this is a business. The writing may be enjoyable or even fun but, in the end, it’s a product that you hope to sell.

    You list looks awesome!

    • Thanks, Melissa. Very true. It doesn’t matter how you decide to publish or what you choose to write. It’s about the end product and getting paid for your efforts, regardless of how much you love the craft. 😉

Leave a Reply

