Feeling Liberated

Every morning I drive to work, I make it a point not to turn on the radio.  I sit behind the steering wheel and think about my writing agenda or what’s next in terms of getting ready for my release of BITTERSWEET

This past week has had me thinking about what I hope to get out of my self-publising venture.  I can sum it up in one word.  Freedom.  Freedom from the slush pile.  Freedom to write what I want.  Freedom to release when I want.  Freedom to make decisions about my cover art, find an editor, and even start my own imprint.  I’m still debating on that last part.  😉  Most important, direct access to readers.  They’re the ones who’ll ultimately decide if I write crap or not and I’m okay with that.

A year ago, my stance was I didn’t have to time or the energy to worry about all of the intricacies.  It was easier to let someone else worry about them once I signed the contract.  There were too many details, and all I wanted to do was write. 

Guess what I’ve been doing since I’ve decided to self-publish?  Write.  Seriously.  My decision to go this route has been liberating.  It’s been a long time since I’ve felt this excited about the craft.  I see what other self-published authors have been saying all along.  Feeling liberated from the grueling publishing path is well-worth worrying about the intricacies.  Getting fan mail from someone who loves Bittersweet: priceless.  🙂

10 thoughts on “Feeling Liberated

  1. I know! Isn’t this empowering? We’re taking control of our own careers instead of giving that power to someone else. And all that stuff we were worried about? In the end we find out it’s not that much or that hard to do.

    • Exactly! One of the reasons why I supported Zoe Winters when she started her endeavor was because I believed in her path as long as it made her happy. That was what really mattered to me. However, I wasn’t about to jump on board because it seemed like waaaaay too much work. When I thought about what it takes to put a book in the hands of readers, I wanted no parts of it because it I didn’t have the time to babysit it. I work full-time, so there was just no freakin’ way. But when I started reading about the self-publishing process, the more I thought about the amazing possibilities.

      One statement that really hit home for me was from JA Konrath. For the life of me, I wish I could find it again on his blog. Anyway, he basically said things like writers groups, agents, contests, sales rankings, etc. are meant to appeal to the writer’s ego, which isn’t where our focus should be. We should be appealing to our readers, since they’re the ones who will get us closer to our goals. The first part was the real eyeopener. The second part has been near and dear to my heart since the beginning of my writing career. I swear, if I find his exact words, I’ll be posting them on my website for an eternity. 🙂

  2. I read your synopsis at your website, I’m sure I’ll be one of your first customers. Oh, I love your new website. I’ve already clicked and peaked at everything. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help. You know I already post your new releases and spread the word by mouth. (And I do talk quite a bit.)

    I’m happy for you. I bet you’re about to bust knowing BITTERSWEET is coming out in March. And you have control over it. Congrats!

    • LOL! I can’t believe in writing this post I forgot to mention that YES, my new website it up. 🙂 It’s not much, but it’s better than having nothing. Next time I either buy a Dreamweaver template and tighten it up myself or I get someone to do it for me.

      Melissa, I can’t thank you enough for your support, nor I can I say how much it means to me. I can’t believe how lucky I am that you stopped at my blog way back when and said hello. No matter what route you take towards publication, you can count on me to spread the world when you publish…especially since I’m such a conference ho. 😆

      • You know you have my support. It’s not just because I like you but, I’m a fangirl of your writing:) I’m glad I stopped by your blog too. I got a new friend and my kids think you’re cool!

  3. I’m really excited about Bittersweet. Not just because it is new, but because I want to see how it goes. I’m crossing my fingers (and toes) for total greatness.

    Oh, and I love the changes you’ve made to the website.

    • Thanks, hon. I’m cross fingers, toes, intestines, and…okay, so like we need to know about my internal organs. 😉 Anyway, I hoping all goes well, too. If it does, then one of these days I’ll be able to tell you and everyone else what this *really* means to me and why it’s so important.

Leave a Reply

