Merry Christmas…and Favorite Things

First, I want to wish you and your loved ones a very Merry Christmas.  As I write this, I’m sitting on the couch with Dr. Who playing on TV.  Everyone else is still asleep, thank goodness.  I’m also very hungry and about to start breakfast.  There’s also putting together my daughter’s rocking horse and her Sit and Spin.  However, I can’t do any of that until I’ve had a word on my blog, first.  Okay, so like it’s a few words now.  Picky.  Picky.  😉

Anyway, I wanted to share some of my favorite holiday things with you guys.  Starting with, I LOVE Disney’s Beauty and the Beast.  Just think of glee on my face when I saw it on ABC Family.  That is my all-time favorite holiday movie.  It beats out the classics like Miracle on 34th Street and A Christmas Story any day. 

Another of my favorite things is caroling.  Add bells and soft melodies with it (not Bing Crosby) and I’m a sucker.  Then…go for the big, all-out choir like Whitney Houston’s version of Do You See What I See.  Absolutely astounding!  Oh, and I like Little Drummer Boy, Greensleeves, and Carol of the Bells, What Child is This, and Twelve Days of Christmas. 

There’s also the food.  This year, I’m making lasagna as the main dish and looking forward to it.  However, I had forgotten to pick up a salad to go with it, so I’m hoping there is a grocery store open until noon.  *fingers crossed*  For dessert, we’re keeping it simple.  Gingerbread and pumpkin cheese cake.  Okay, so like I thought it was simple because it’s all premade.  🙂

So, I guess I’ll keep this short because I’m dying to crack open my gift to myself.  Dreamweaver CS4.  It’s last year’s version–I think–but it only cost me $52 at the campus computer store.  You can’t beat that price.  Here’s to hoping it’ll help me better design my new website.  Yes, I know.  I’m a geek.  😉

What are some of your favorite things about Christmas?

6 thoughts on “Merry Christmas…and Favorite Things

  1. My favorite thing is having breakfast with my son and his family. We just started a few years ago, and I love it more than the bigger celebration at my in-laws (where we’ll see my son and family again).

    Your lasagna sounds lovely. We’re having turkey at my SIL’s. She’s a good cook, and I know everything except the stuffing (I don’t like her stuffing) will be delicious.

    Have a fab holiday!

  2. One of my favorite things is watching THE POLAR EXPRESS with my youngest daughter on Christmas Eve. It’s become our family tradition. The other show we try to watch is A CHARLIE BROWN CHRISTMAS. My whole family joins in on that one.

    • Oh, I had totally forgotten about the Polar Express. YES, that’s an excellent movie!! I think I’ve seen it three or four times this season so far. And how can anyone forget Charlie Brown’s Christmas. That’s like a tradition in our house.

  3. So I’m late checking in – I love the quiet days after Christmas which have just ended. I can’t believe it, 2011. Time to reflect on many things including how much I appreciate my writing friends. Happy New Year, Marcia!

  4. I love watching A Christmas Story. I even try to catch Its a Wonderful Life, but missed it this year. Normally they have it on every station (or so it seems). Just saw it listed once or twice this time.

    We had Christmas Eve dinner with my brother and my SIL’s family. That’s always a fun zoo. Munchies with mom and my family on Christmas Day and again dinner at my brother and SIL’s that evening. It was such fun.

Leave a Reply

