Stripping Back to Second Gear

I knew it would happen.  I do this all the time.  Whenever I get sick and tired of working on one story, I hit up another one.  In this case, I had slammed head-on into writer’s block with STRIPPED 2.  I stopped writing around page 180 and started working on my YA project. 

What I thought would be a simple rewrite turned into a massive one.  I was going to fix things here and there, but I ended up redoing about 75% of it, working on plotting, pacing, characterization, and ramping up the tension.  Just when I thought I couldn’t love that book any more, I found I could.  Heck, I think it’s my strongest book to date.  But guess what ugly sucker reared its horned head again?  Yup.  Writer’s block.  So, I’ve put my YA aside. 

But there’s a happy ending to this story.  You see, that freed up a new scenario with STRIPPED 2 and helped me create a beginning that’s more emotionally charged and with much larger stakes.  I’m back to loving this book again, even though it’ll probably need a huge overhaul like my YA project had once I’m finished.  Either way, it’s great to be back on the half-wolf bandwagon again.  My biggest fear is that I’ll suffer from second-book-itis and end up with a flop on my hands.  I’m so hoping that’s not the case, but I be sure until I’ve finished the book.  Fingers crossed I succeed.    🙂

Oh, and before I forget, a huge THANK YOU to all of you who have purchased copies of STRIPPED.  You guys have really made my day.  Heck, my entire year. 😀

6 thoughts on “Stripping Back to Second Gear

  1. I find that being away from a project lets me see it more clearly too. Good for you! And I’m glad you’re doing so well with Stripped. Now you have to get that sequel out. You have readers waiting for it!

  2. I’m with Edie. You have readers waiting for it. You have and audience of readers waiting to find out what happens next. Maybe you need to just pop over to amazon and read the editoral reviews for STRIPPED. Then you’ll know why I and others have added you to the; oh God that was so good but, I can’t believe I have to wait a whole year before I can find out.
    I’m sure, I’ll be sending you messages while your away like Marcia, did you know your book is being reviewed at awesome review site? I’m glad you’re working on the YA. J is waiting:) She told me that she needs another YA author to read. She’s been pushing me to try my hand at a YA. So go on and finish so I can see how it’s done:)

  3. If you love the story that’s your gut telling you it’s good. But you read all the time of the angst of “the creative types.” Fortunately, as a reader I have no such qualms I just enjoy the book. And I know for sure I’m going to enjoy Stripped 2 so enough of this writer’s block business LOL!

  4. You know I LOVE Alexa! I can’t wait to read Stripped 2. I’ve had a case of the opposite. I’m high on both the projects I’m working on and praying for the strength to put one on the back burner and focus 100% on the other. I gave up that approach when I realized I spent more time trying to be disciplined and working on one only. But I’m really tired, not of the work (Thank the Gods!) but of working on school and writing. But I’m hoping things will ease up after the holidays, when I expect (key word expect) to be done with both manuscripts.

    I’ve missed you lady…

  5. You’re just being doubly productive, working on BOTH books instead of just one. Think of all the people who start a book, hit writers block, start a new one, get blocked on that one too, start a third book, etc.

  6. I do the same. I hop from one story to the other, just as soon as the writing gets tough. Distance sometimes gives me the fire to return, but once in a while lets me know that the project was a false start to begin with. I’ve shelved a couple that way. But, the ones I return to, I return to with greater passion and clarity.

Leave a Reply

