It’s Not That Epic (with Giveaways!)

I am thrilled to have Zoe Winters, indie author extraordinaire as a guest this week.  She’s come a long way, but the journey was well worth it now that she has three Kindle Bestsellers under her name.  I’m halfway through Bloodlust and I can see why her books are hot.  😀

So without further ado…

This is the last day of my week-long book blitz/blog tour for Blood Lust. There has been laughter and tears and ice cream and butterflies and… um nevermind. I’ll stop now.

I’m going to take this moment to poke a little fun at my own behavior. I started a series of cartoons on Youtube called Zoe Who? to make fun of the publishing industry, and me, and the super serious “it will kill your career” attitude toward self-publishing.

In one of my videos the character playing opposite Z, has a fit about how horrific self-publishing is… and how you could end up in a ditch, panhandling, or maybe as a prostitute. At that point Z points out that we’re just talking about publishing a book. It’s not that big of a deal. It’s not like we’re feeding Ethiopian children or curing cancer.

Of course, the irony is, every time I do something, especially having to do with promoting my own work, I DO act like it’s world-in-peril stuff. Like the world will end if I mess up and don’t do it exactly right. I put way too much pressure on myself to succeed.

One of my critique partners, and a very talented indie author, Susan Bischoff, typically gets into my IM box when I reach terror-level-orange and throws my Zoe Who? words back in my face. She says: “Zoe, calm down. You aren’t curing cancer. It’s not a big deal.”

She’s the best pep talker ever! She tells me that if I don’t reach the ludicrously insane goals I’ve set for myself this time, then nobody will die. IncuBooks (my self-created imprint), will not drop me. I can just keep trucking, learn whatever lessons there are to learn from the experience, and do better next time.

I’ve also had other cool indies who have talked me down off the ledge at various points: Debbi Mack, Kait Nolan, and R.J. Keller among them.

I’m actually writing this very late Sunday night/early Monday morning, before the blitz has really gotten started, before I know how it all turns out. I already screwed up once, by announcing the blitz before my buy link was up (a stupid oversight on my part). I went to emo-crazy-level for most of the weekend over the issue and Tom just about murdered me.

So as we’re drawing to the end of all this madness, (and hopefully my buy link for the Kindle book showed up at some point during the week. I will seriously cry if it hasn’t), I can sit back and think and remember that it’s just not that Epic. Whatever did or didn’t happen on this blitz, it was a learning experience. Already, still sitting at the front of this promo push writing this, I’ve learned one lesson: Publish your Kindle book a full week before your blitz, and make SURE the buy button is live before you start promo. LOL

So that’s one thing I’ll do better next time!

Even though we’re almost at the end here, there is still time to enter the big contest to win a brand new next generation Amazon Kindle with 3G. Check out my blog for details.

I’ll also be giving away a signed copy of Blood Lust to a commenter here.

And… here’s the description of the book.. in case you haven’t already seen it 70 billion times already:

It’s all about the blood…

Comprised of three novellas, Blood Lust gives readers a snapshot look at the world of the Preternaturals Series. (Future installments of the series will be novels.)

KEPT:

As a cat therian (shifter), Greta’s blood is already sought after to enhance spells and potions, but due to a quirk of her birth, her blood is potent enough to kill for. When her tribe plans to sacrifice her, Greta must ally herself with Dayne, the dangerous local sorcerer, and the only person strong enough to protect her.

CLAIMED:

For a vampire, Anthony isn’t a picky eater, but he’s drawn to Charlee’s blood more than any other. Like a fine wine saved for a special occasion, he’s denied himself this pleasure. But one night, high from the potent magical blood of another, he claims his prize and loses control. Ashamed of almost killing the one woman who means anything to him, he wipes her memory of the event. When Charlee awakens with complete amnesia, Anthony is the only one who can clean up the mess he’s made.

MATED:

Because of the vampiric blood that has run through her veins since birth, Jane has been a target for vampires who resent a human being “kindred.” She’s forced to disguise herself as a vampire groupie to appease them and safeguard her life. When she’s abruptly given to Cole, the leader of the werewolf pack, to satisfy a gambling debt, she discovers the blood running through her veins has a far greater impact on her destiny than she ever imagined.

Print and ebook copies are available at Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk. (other retailers coming soon.)

Buy links are available from my blog (The top stickied Amazon contest post.)

You can find me here:

Author Website
Author Blog
Twitter

22 thoughts on “It’s Not That Epic (with Giveaways!)

  1. Maybe your self-publishing isn’t epic in the scheme of the world…but it is in YOUR world. And that’s okay. The reason you’re so successful is because it’s such a big deal to you. It has to be. So keep being obsessive about it. It’s working for you. 🙂

  2. I think your doing great!
    And getting to publlish a book is a big deal it does not matter that it’s self-published as long as you get your story out there where it can be enjoyed by readers worldwide and inspire people to read more.
    The world does not end when you miss a goal, so just try too relax I’m sure everything will work out in the end:-)

  3. Zoe, your talent and determination will help you to win the war if not the battle to reach your goals. Hang in there… your fans will.

  4. I agree that publishing a book is a big deal. I know I calmed you down at one point (I hope I did) — and then I freaked out when I got my author’s name wrong on Amazon. lol Now I can see it was nothing but at the time it seemed like it was everything.

    I hope you make many, many sales!

  5. I can’t wait to read more from the Blood Lust characters in their future novel installments – good luck with your Kindle contest!

  6. Hey Guys! Going to reply to individual comments here (which I haven’t done most of the week since I’ve been so busy)

    Thanks, Lauralynn! I think there is truth in what you say, but I also have to learn when to back off and just let whatever happens, happen. Because the energy is best used on creating more work. Like next week as soon as this contest is over, I’m not going to obsess about Blood Lust sales anymore, or the individual novella sales. I’m going to get back to work on the Save My Soul edits. Because I want to have that out by Christmas! (Or immediately thereafter.)

    Thanks, Mette! I DID miss my goals this week. I think there are multiple factors at play (it’s not all just ‘luck’), which I’ll be talking about on my blog next Tuesday after I’ve had time to process. But you’re right… missing a goal doesn’t end the world. It’s all just a part of the process of success.

    Thanks, Wendy G., that means a lot to me! And I definitely want to win the war. Every individual battle isn’t as important as how it all goes in the end.

    Hey Lillie, thanks! I love making the videos. I should have a new episode up on Monday. Didn’t release one this week because of the blitz! It’s been a crazy week!

    Thanks, Melanie S!

    Edie, actually yes, you were one of the people calming me down… I have so many people who do that, that it’s easy to forget names. My cover artist who is also a friend by now, does the same thing! LOL When I’m sad or freaked out, she tells me jokes about wizards, haha! It’s so easy to flip out and think every little thing will make or break you. It’s especially true when you feel like you’re in a race against everybody else’s success.

    Thanks Marjana, good luck!

    Thanks, Scorpio!

    Thanks, bleumoon! Hopefully the second full-length book will be out by Christmas. I want to get to the point where I’m writing well enough without super extreme edits, that I can release two books a year. I think that would really help things a lot!

  7. Oh…

    And I also meant to say… I’ll be drawing a winner for the free signed copy here tomorrow evening (Eastern time zone)

    Thanks everyone who has followed me through the tour!

  8. Thanks, Chelsea! Debbi, well you’ve helped talk me down. 🙂 Thanks Cories and Ina!

    Okay, I’m here to pick a winner now. I used Random.org to select a winner of a signed copy of Blood Lust… and the book goes to…

    Commenter number 3: Wendy G! Congrats!

    Please email me at zoegrace25 AT gmail DOT com to claim your prize!

    If I don’t hear from you in the next 24 hours, I’ll get with Marcia for the email she has on file. Thanks, and congrats!

  9. Wow! I feel like I’ve hosted a slammin’ blog party.

    A huge thanks to everyone who stopped by. Zoe, I wish you much success in your amazing endeavor. Oh, and screw the mistakes. Everyone makes them regardless if you’re NY, e-book, or indie pubbed. It’s how you handle them–and cover them up–that counts. 😉

Leave a Reply

