Bitter Ends and New Beginnings

I’ve been a little bit distant lately and some folks have noticed.  Hardly any answered emails. Few tweets or FB.  No activity anywhere, not even here. 

A week ago, my Fortune 500 company announced they were closing our office as of July 30th.  It was a huge blow to everyone, including me.  I think I might have alluded to this on an earlier post that I was looking for a job.  Have been, in fact, for the last few months.  There really wasn’t a lot out there in March…or what is February?  Either way, I forget. 

Anyway, we thought the office wouldn’t close until October because that was when our lease was up.  The corporate money mongers decided to change their minds when word got out prematurely about the closure.  The only thing that wasn’t decided upon was the day.  So, the money mongers–the way I see it–decided to choose a date by flipping a coin.

Now don’t get me wrong.  There were some options.  I could move to Colorado or California.  Neither were an option for me.  It would’ve cost more to continue working for the Fortune 500 because I would’ve had rent in the new place and a mortgage in NC.  So, I said unless the company was going to buy my house, count me out.  I’ll stay right where I am and find a job.

And that’s exactly what happened this past Friday.  😀

As of June 1st, I’ll be working in a field that brings me one step closer than I’ve ever been to my medical/clinical roots.  Not only that, but it’s IT, too.  The morning drive will be icky and not being able to work from home will be torture.  However, this is a promotion and I get paid like it.  I’m excited.  Not to mention, they seem to actually care about their workers and want them to do a good job.  Also, I’m working in a fields where what I make a difference. 

Since learning of the bad news, it’s been hard to finish up my once-over for a manuscript that I was supposed to have finished a few days ago.  At least, that was when I had promised myself I’d send it off, since my dream agent waiting on the full.  I’ve been spending all of my time before the horrible announcement and the time leading up to it looking for a new job.  Since the good news, I’ve finished more than 100 pages of revisions and had sent it off a few hours ago.   

I hate it when non-writing things disrupt my muse’s flow.  Hate it with a passion.  The only non-writing thing that will always get a reprieve is family.  That’s different.  But just when you think things are okay in other aspects of your life, some jerk (Fortune 500) comes along and jerks the rug out so hard that land on your face and knock your front teeth out.  But as with everything, I pick myself up, dust myself off, go find my teeth, put them back in, and go about my way.  As of today, I’m skipping about my way with my confidence cloak flapping in the breeze.  I don’t think I ever lost my confidence. It just got tangled up on a fence. 😉

What’s been challenging you these days?

27 thoughts on “Bitter Ends and New Beginnings

  1. Good for you for getting a job so soon. A job that will make a difference, will bring you back to your roots, and will pay you better money. Yeah!

    Congrats on finishing the revisions, too. I’m revising, too, an old book. I wrote this about 6 years ago. It’s good to know that I learned a bit since then. It’s also good to see why I thought it was good. That’s there, too.

    My challenge right now is my dogs. You don’t want to hear about it. Icky stuff that had me scrubbing the carpet today.

    • Thanks, Edie. 😀

      I’ve revisited books I had written years ago, too. Isn’t it amazing to see how much you’ve changed? I love that!

      As for the dogs…well…that’s why I don’t have one. 😉 Although, I have been playing around with the idea. A puppy would be perfect to wear Little Bit when us old folks just want to settle down in the evening. Look at the bright side. The doggy business can’t last forever. It’ll get better.

  2. Great news on the job minus the commute part! My challenges are that I have been jobless since October and I share a common last name with some women named Sarah… 🙂

  3. Glad things worked out so well. Starting fresh is scary, but knowing you’re headed in a direction you want to go in will surely make it easier. And, it doesn’t hurt you get a mini-vacation in between the old and new. ; )

    • Avery, girl, what are you doing here? :mrgreen:

      Starting fresh is scary, but knowing you’re headed in a direction you want to go in will surely make it easier.

      Very true! I’ve been in this position before where I knew the job well, but going into it turned me into a nervous wreak. I’m still nervous, but I keep telling myself, this is what you’ve wanted for a long time and things are going to be okay. I’ll be sure to remind myself of that on that mini-vacation, too. 😉

  4. You know I’m just happy for you. Job market is tough but, you landed on your feet. As for what’s been challenging for me lately, you already know that part. Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

    • I was a little worried with the job market being what it was and knowing that it took my next door neighbor a year and half to find something. Luckily, things worked themselves out.

      And I have no doubt that you’ll not only land on your feet, but you’ll be be a super hero when all is said and done. You’re an awesome mom and I know your babies couldn’t be prouder. 🙂

  5. You go, Marcia! I’m so excited for you. To be able to juggle a family, a writing career, and a whole other professional career is amazing. I’m rooting for you. I know all your hard work will pay off in all fronts. Keep on keeping on. That’s what I keep telling myself as well. I had a rough last year with my writing and having to put it aside for work. I’m still trying to find the balance to do what I truly love and yet still support my husband and our growing business. But it’ll work out. We all have each other. I don’t know what I’d do without the support of all my writing friends like you. It’s nice to hear that others are in the same boat as me as we try to untangle our confidence cloaks.

    I have my fingers crossed for you with the dream agent. That is so wonderful! 🙂

    • Girl, how much do I love thee? Let me count the ways. Oh, wait. I don’t have that many fingers. 😉

      I know you and the hubby will make the business happen. We all hit bumps in the road and sometimes even craters, but in the end, I believe we have it within us to make things happen. No, that’s not from the book The Secret either. To me, it’s not that big of a secret. Anyway, I’m a huge believer in following your dreams whether they work out for you or not. Things always have a way of working themselves out as long as we keep plugging away at them. So plug on, girlfriend. I’ll keep rooting you on as long as it takes.

  6. I was biting my nails until I got to the middle of the post! I have a word for you: SUSPENSE! Woman you were killing me. I thought I was going to have to start collecting money in the subway or at least put up a little stand to start selling your books, so you and the babe could stay in beautiful NC. Thank the Gods I don’t have to because I’m always annoyed by subway vendors and there is nothing worse than becoming that which you highly dislike.

    Congrats on the new job! Get lots of audio books for the drive.

    In my life… well, you know about the break up with the ex-boyfriend, but that’s a couple of months old and it is no longer an issue. So what else? I started working in more literary fiction and trying out magic realism, that’s fun, but really frustrating at times.

    The one that’s killing is that I have to move again. I’ll email you about it. Soon.

    Hugs to you and your little angel.

    • Again, I say, how much do I love thee? Let me count the ways. Wait a sec. I have to borrow a couple dozen hands and add in some toes. 😉

      I thought I was going to have to start collecting money in the subway or at least put up a little stand to start selling your books, so you and the babe could stay in beautiful NC.

      Girlfriend, this is why I love you to pieces. Oh, and I love my suspense, too. 😀

      I didn’t know how you likd literary fiction. I like it, too, sometimes, though I read very little of it these days. I need to introduce you to my friend Kathy. She LOVES lit fic. I think you need to combine both the lit fic and magic realism, if that’s possible. If it were, I’d probably call it The Society of S, only that’s with vampires. Either way, it sounds good.

      Okay, I’ll continue the rest of this conversation off the net. I need to know what happened and why the move. Either way, hugs. Just do what you need to do so you can get on with writing and the rest of life. Trust me, you’ll hate it now but be thankful it’s over once you get to where you’re going.

  7. Hi Marica you go girl don’t give up. I am glad you have found a job. Like they say “when life gives you lemon make lemonade”

    • Where in the world is Natasha Fondren? LOL! I bet you get that a lot now. 😉 Any chance you’ll be around Utica NY or Pennsylvania the second week in July? 😀

      Non-fiction isn’t bad…though I hardly read any of it. Of course, I’ll make the exception when it comes to your books. Your blog along is enough for me to snatch up anything you write. 😉

Leave a Reply

