Me? Contemporary? Hahahahahaha!

This morning, I was pouring over my emails, trying to get rid of the 1000+ pieces of crap that have clogged up my inbox.  I’m talking about the account where I send my emails that aren’t writing or publishing related.  So technically, I shouldn’t have anything author-related in there, right?

Wrong. 

A few months back an idea had struck me between the eyes with a thud.  It was so powerful, that it I had to stop everything and write a synopsis for it.  Well, that synopsis turned out to be a few pages long.  Usually when ideas like that come along, I send an email to myself with some notes and/or references.  No biggie.  I don’t know where I was when I had written this, but I had sent it to the wrong account.  Three months later, I’ve rediscovered the synopsis and wondered, “What the heck was I thinking?  I should’ve written this sooner.” 

Now, there’s a very plausible reason why I had forgotten about this particular book.  It’s a contemporary romance.  

Rrrrrrrrrrrt! 

Back the truck up, you say?  Yes, you heard me right.  A contemporary romance.  Talk about a deviation from my love of the paranormal.  Heck, even as I had read the synopsis, I knew the publishing house that would perfect for it.  Though I could always add a paranormal slant to it, this story would be stronger without one. 

So what’s a woman to do?  I have no idea, really.  I’m not about to deviate from STRIPPED 2 to write this because I love that story too much.  However, this one has me intrigued enough to actually think about giving it some CPR and seeing what happens.  Just not now.  I’ll wait until I’m ready for a new pen name. 😉

What would you do if you were published in a genre you didn’t really want to be in?

19 thoughts on “Me? Contemporary? Hahahahahaha!

  1. I know plenty of people who write in two genres. If I loved it, I’d give it a shot. It’s up to you, though. If you want to build a readership in one genre first, you can always write this book later.

    • Good point, Edie. I’m still building that readership in with my paranormal stuff, so it would be interesting if readers followed me to contemporary. The thing is, I never follow my fav authors into a different genre unless it’s related to their first one. Weird, I know, but I like what I like. *sigh*

  2. Well, to be quite honest I have those ideas too. Just plain old dramatic contemporary romance stories, the one that get made into movies and shake the living hell out of moviegoers. So far, I love my gore.

    • So far, I love my gore.

      😀 I know what you mean. Paranormal has been such a huge part of my writing that writing anything else just feels weird. And if it feels weird, then I have to ask myself if I can pull it off and make it believable. Hmmm…

      • Perhaps, we should read more outside our genre to know how to pull it off. I am quite influenced by Coelho and Muarakami from a more philosophical and totally bizarre point-of-view to explore the story in the weird contemporary way it is so modern to do without surfacing the paranormal as an obvious element. I think I do not have the maturity to evoke that in my writing, so that is why the ideas come half-shaped.

        I contemplate on reading some philosophical works and dive in, when life experience rolls in.

        • It’s sooooooo hard for me to read outside my genre. I know everyone always says you should, but I’ll be lucky if I last more than a few chapters. But then again, the only stuff I really seem to like outside my genre are those rag magazines like National Enquirer. *shrug*

          • Classics? Boy, the classics are worth it. Picture of Dorian Gray is spec fic in my opinion and one can learn much about language from there. Lolita is amazing as well. Start from there and then experiment.

  3. Sometimes it isn’t the writer’s choice as to genre. The publisher decides. For instance, an author I’m acquainted with writes historical fiction. And her first novel was definitely just that. Yet, upon her second novel the publisher suggested placing it in the romantic category. It didn’t end up there, and neither did her third, but since then the publisher sort of dropped her. One has to wonder if it was because she wasn’t “romantic” enough. And I have to wonder if publishers are pushing what sells.

    What’s in it for you? Fame and fortune? In that case, let the publisher decide the market. A book from the heart? Well, I think you can answer that one… 😉

    • Another good point, Kath. I’ve heard of the same thing happening to many authors. They start their book one way and the editor says to add something else to make ti sell. At that point, you have to decide what’s best for your story. With my luck, I’ll have an agent/editor who will tell me to add the paranormal slant, since that’s what’s selling. Not that I have problem with that, but I’d probably pull my artisitc license card on this one and write that book from my heart…without the paranormal.

  4. Well you’re talking to the girl who published a historical, followed by a book I prefer to call historical fantasy. Even though I now write romantic suspense – do I regret either of those choices – no. In fact I made a conscious decision with the second book to publish in a category in which I wasn’t heading in the immediate future. I figure my reading habits are as eclectic as my writing and while consistency is good, as a reader it only intrigues me when a favourite author occasionally veers into another category or genre.

    • You, Ryshia, are a cool success story who knows how to make it work regardless f the genre. 😉 That’s what I call talent. One thing is certain. Writing in more than one genre, both that are complete opposites, can’t hurt a person’s career. If you gain readers from one genre, they’ll either follow you into the new one or you’ll get new readers who might follow you to a different one. It’s a win-win for the author.

  5. Heck, I’ll write whatever comes, regardless of genre, then try to sell it. If an editor thinks my identification with one genre or another is a problem, believe me, they’ll mention it. So far, no one has. Of course, when you write everything from interviews to art books to contemp romance to mystery to dark fantasy, maybe the brand is “Breadth”. 😉
    BTW, planning any conventions this year?
    Cheers and smiles,

    • Jean Marie! You multi-talented writer, you. Where you have you been? 😆 Talk about being a free-writing spirit. Breadth is certainly a wonderful brand to have. You’ll have readers following you all over the place. And the great thing about that is when one genre starts to get flooded, you’ll already have your foot in another that’s probably taking off. Any steampunk in your future? 😉

      And as for conferences, RT, ConCarolinas (happing in Charlotte, NC–you should come!), ReConstruction (right here in Raleigh and another one you should attend so I won’t be lonely ;)) and Moonlight and Magnolias.

  6. Personally I’d turn the hero into a vampire and go from there. 😆 Just kiddin’. Like it was mentioned above, nothing wrong with writing in two genres. Give a shot. You might like it.

Leave a Reply

