I’ve Been Transformed By Raven

I finally got it!  My copy of Abaculus III.  Woohoooo!

There’s a good reason why I’m excited about this book and it’s because it contains my buddy Melissa Carmichael’s debut urban fantasy short story.  She can finally say she’s a published author and I’m happy to crack open a bottle of cyber champagne to help her celebrate.  Nothing beats being able to hold your book in your hand and it doesn’t matter if it’s your first or the last.  It’s yours.  Period. 

I was going to hold off on reading Raven Transformation until I was officially on maternity leave, but that didn’t happen.  Instead, I dove into it.  All I’m going to say is that I was pissed at the end.  I wanted chapter two, three, four, five, etc.  But then I remembered that this is an anthology of short stories.  Dang.  Melissa, you can’t leave a woman hanging like that.  Do you need a critique partner for the rest of the book?  😆

I normally don’t do book reviews on my blog, so I’ll keep this short and sweet.  Her story is that it hooked me from the first paragraph to the end.  Melissa’s writing is flawless, which makes it easy to get sucked into the heroine’s point of view.  I’m dying to know what happened to Raven seeing as there is something definitely wrong with her transformation.  I read somewhere that the key to having a fantastic short story is to thicken the plot with every sentence.  You’ve certainly delivered.

Keep writing, girlfriend.  If this is a sample of your work, you’ll have a long, fabulous career ahead of you.  😀 

Now, I’m off to read the rest of the stories.

What good books have the rest of you picked up lately?

18 thoughts on “I’ve Been Transformed By Raven

  1. Oh dear. The bulk of my reading is too boring for words, but here goes. America’s Hidden History. Untold Tales of the First Pilgrims, Fighting Women, and Forgotten Founder Who Shaped a Nation, by Kenneth C. Davis; Inventing a Nation by Gore Vidal, and a few miscellaneous essays by Thomas Paine. Yes indeedy, that’s my life. 🙂

    • Man, girlfriend. Just reading those titles broke my heart. 😆 Once your classes are over, we need to get you into some delicious reads that’ll tantalize your mind and leave you breathless. And no, I’m not talking about anything from Harlequin Ho-rizons either. I don’t want your one good eye bleeding into oblivion.

  2. I read Lori Brighton’s Wild Heart and thought it was great! She’s an excellent writer. I’ve got a ton of books to read, and not much time. It was a busy week. I expect this week to be equally busy.

    • “Busy week.” *sigh* Don’t remind me. I wish Little Bit would get busy and work her way down the birth canal already.

      Anyway, I’ve heard some great things about Lori’s book. Though I don’t usually read historicals, I make the usually make the exception to pick up one or two. Hmmm. I think I need to go back and read the blurb for her book. 😉

  3. I’m jumping up and down like an idiot! My little brother and my dad started staring and I just closed the door and ignored them. I’m sooooo happy for Melissa! I’m running to her blog now to tell her how proud I am. Thanks for letting me know Marcia.

    Um… I was promised a baby on Monday. What’s going on?

    • Tee hee. I’m so doggone proud of her too, that I could reach through the computer and hug her until her bones cracked like twigs. 😀

      Oh, and no baby. Bummer. 😦 She decided it was too ugly and damp outside to make an appearance. Fingers crossed the dam bursts tomorrow.

  4. Two great books I recently finished ~ Heartbreak River by Tricia Mills and Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. I’m on a YA kick at the moment.

    I hope that little darling of yours makes an appearance soon!

    • Oh man!! I’ve been dying to pick up Hush Hush. Talk about a sweet looking cover! I soooo need to add that to my wish list. I haven’t read any Tricia Mills yet, so I’ll have to check her out, too. 😉

      And you hear that Little Bit? Everyone wants to see you, honey bun. 🙂

      She just responded with a bladder pinch. Gotta run to the bathroom again. *sigh*

  5. “Flesh and Fire” by LA Gilman was immensely awesome. Other than that I can’t say. “Dark Stranger” by Susan Sizemore is also a good read as far as I am concerned.

    How are you fairing? I imagined you already on maternal leave drinking fruit juices on a recliner by now. *grin*

    • I’ve tried getting into her Retrievers novels and had the hardest time, so I never bothered with any of her other books. I’ll have to check that one out because it looks like it’s from a new series she’s starting. I haven’t read Susan Sizemore in ages and I know I’m behind in her books. Dang. I bet I even have a few still lingering around the house somewhere.

      No baby yet either. Yesterday was her drop date, but she wasn’t having it. So, I’m sitting back and relaxing until she’s here. 🙂

      • It’s historical fantasy, where magic can be performed only by a certain kind of wine makers and wine is the magic system. It is phenomenal. I have reviewed both books I mentioned on my TLR, so you can pop up anytime, when you have the opportunity.

        Ah, cute little baby feels cozy inside, huh? She will decide to drop eventually. Hopefully soon.

        PS: Is it tactful to ask whether you had a chance to look over my piece? If you can’t by the way say so and I will pray to the gods that I managed to revise it better and send it off. No big deal on my department.

    • YES!! I have Faith’s book on my Maternity Leave TBR pile. I figure between breast feedings I might be able to hold it in one hand while feeding Little Bit with the other. 😀

      I’ve heard/seen The Forest of Hands and Teeth, but I’m a little hesitant about getting it. I’ve seen enough zombie movies to steer me clear me of books about them. Perhaps I’ll pick on one or two in the future.

    • What?! And you haven’t posted a video of Dad struttin’ his stuff on YouTube? I would’ve loved to have seen that. We ALL would have. 😆

      You’re not the only one proud of her, hon. Trust me, it’ll get better from here, and you guys will have much more to celebrate as time goes on. Fingers crossed she makes it big-time. 🙂

  6. I have the newest Dexter novel that’s first on my list of reads after school is over. There are quite a few more, and I’m sure I won’t get to most before next semester begins.

  7. Just started a new urban fantasy called “Confessions of a Demon” by S.L. Wright. I think this is her debut book and so far I’m likin’ it.

    Let’s get that little darlin’ out, Marcia. We’re all waitin’.

Leave a Reply

