An In-Your-Face News Report

There has been a lot of good stuff happening around the web lately, so I thought I’d take a moment to share.  And because I can’t find anything else that interesting to blog about with regards to my life.  I’m still pregnant and 33 weeks along as of Monday.  Tuesday is my OB appointment.  Saturday is my childbirthing class.  My baby shower has been moved to Halloween.  Woohoo!  😈 

Um…  Well, like I said.  Nothing that interesting.  Oh, and I’m lovin’  Lovin’ LOVIN’ my YA paranormal.  Got some serious revision time down on this thing.  Oh, and one more thing.  Have I told you guys how much I love fan mail and how my books are getting around by word of mouth?  Oh, man, do I love this writing thing.  🙂

Okay, so like the news…

First, my heartfelt condolences to Kate Duffy’s family, friends, and authors.  In case you haven’t heard by now, she died last Sunday of cancer.  She’s edited some NY Times bestselling authors while at Kensington, so I know she’ll be sorely missed.  One thing that always struck me about her is she’s a tell-it-like-it-is type of person and never afraid of the backlash it might cause.  I loved that about her.

Second, I don’t know if you guys remember my friend Kalayna Price from ConCarolinas, but her golden goose has landed, baby.  Not only did she sign on with Lucienne Diver of The Knight Agency, but about two weeks later, she landed her first NY contract with Ace/Roc.  Way to go, girlfriend.  I’m so happy for you.  😀

Third, I’m still waiting for my girl Nicki to confirm, but she won the Maggie for best single title.  A huge CONGRATS to her.  I met Nicki at my first Moonlight and Magnolias and she’s a trip to hang out with.  I only wish I had gotten to spend more time with her.

Since I love giving people a leg up, my buddy Harry has also started a new blog and he has a great intro describing his passion for writing.  Check it out at: http://throughaforestofideas.blogspot.com/.

My girl, Jax Cassidy has redesigned the Romance Diva’s website and blog, so make sure you check those out.  There’s a reason why I think she’s Ms. Design Extraordinaire.  Just scroll down on the homepage and check out that pretty STRIPPED cover, if you don’t believe me. 

And before I forget, my girl Ryshia Kennie has a new book coming out this month, so I’m sure she’s both excited and nervous.  But more about that later.  I’m planning something special for her release. 

Other than several friends of mine getting back into the writing groove, that’s all I have to report.  Perhaps it has something to do with the phases of the moon.  😉

Any good news you guys want to share?  I’d love to hear it.

22 thoughts on “An In-Your-Face News Report

  1. Congrats to you and your friends! I’m glad your pregnancy and your YA are going along so well. 🙂

    My good news is that I wrote more than 10K words last week. It felt good to finally exceed my goal.

  2. Thank you so much for pimping me. *grin* I am in love with my website and I hope to write the most intriguing posts about writing that I can muster. 🙂 Oh and thanks so much again. 🙂

  3. Wow … lots of good news all around. Very cool. Nothing to add to that other than my mulling is finally paying off on the UF that I want to write and ideas are beginning to formulate. That’s progress as far as I’m concerned.

    • Liz, hon, progress is great thing and it counts. If you need a cheerleader or a butt-kicker in your corner, you just let me know. 😉 And I, sucker that I am for you UF, can’t wait to find out what your book is about. Already you have me salivating.

  4. I got nothing, lol. School’s in session and my courses that weren’t classified as “writing intensive,” are more so than those that were. That said, I’ve had next to no time for even thinking about my personal stuff.

    Way to go on your revisions, the baby, and all the other good things going on in everyone else’s life. 🙂

  5. You’re welcome.

    Just been trying to get back into my writing groove after a hiatus.

    It has been ages since we talked. We need to catch up.

    I noticed you mentioned going to RT 2010. I’ll be there also. Can’t wait to see you.

  6. Awww, thanks for the plug, sweetie! I think it’s baby season..can’t wait to see your precious bundle. I wish I had gone to M&M but couldn’t this year. Definitely will try to go next year if possible. There’s always something going on. Great highlights!

    • Not a problem, hon. That’s what friends are for. If you’re going to be at RT2010, then hopefully you and Little Bit will get a chance to meet. I plan on introducing her to all of my friends. 🙂

  7. Hi Marcia~ Congrats on your upcoming bundle of joy! Have you revealed if it’s a boy or a girl? And thanks for sharing the good stuff going on – I was at M&M this year and it was terrific. I’ve got some good news for you – you won my giveaway so please send me an email. 🙂

    • I won something? Like…I WON SOMETHING?! How cool is that? Woohooooooo! Thanks, hon!

      See? Now I’m doubly bummed that I didn’t get a chance to got o M&M this year. But then again, Baby Girl has been weighing me down lately, so I doubt I’ve been much fun…maybe. 😉

  8. I saw Kalayna at D*C (din’t talk to her face-to-face). I sent her an email after the show aksing about the Bell Bridge Books publisher, which she responded to. She seemed really nice, though we didn’t contine an email exhange after that. I had no idea she had made it in with Lucienne Diver; that’s one of Faith Hunter’s agents. Very cool! Do you know if Kalayna is going to be coming back to ConCarolinas?

    • Kalayna is a sweetie. We have moments were we go back and forth, but then it’s like we get right back into our own writing worlds. 😆

      I’m definitely want her to come. When I found out she was going to ConCarolinas earlier this year, I tried to get her to be a guest, but I think it was too late to sign up. Which reminds me, I need to send her an email to let her know that guest registration has opened up and to get hers in. I think we’d have a blast doing an urban fantasy panel together.

      I didn’t know Faith had Lucienne as an agent. How sweet is that?

Leave a Reply

