Write What You Want

“I’ll write what I want to write, and if you don’t like it, you don’t have to read it.”

There comes a time in every writer’s life when you have to think this way.  It’s not cocky or meant to put anyone off.  It grants us writers permission to tell the rules to screw themselves so that creativity can flow. 

One thing I’ve noticed with more writers these days is they’re beginning to loosen up when it comes to the genre in which they write.  I’m not saying that’s true of all authors.  Some folks prefer not to stray from tradition and that’s okay.  However, I’ve always been one to find a loop hole in the rules because I don’t believe in absolutes when it comes to following my dreams.  Rules are a way to hinder them, and that won’t work for me.  So unless it’s physically impossible, never tell me that I can’t when it comes to writing. 

This is a state of mind that comes in handy whenever I’m trying to work through a sagging middle or writer’s block.  I don’t think about whether or not my book will sell, what my agent will think, or how my tiny audience will respond.  I don’t care if it’s a NYT bestseller or if it garners the award for the Worst of the Worst.  I write what I need to write to get the story out of my head and worry about the consequences later…maybe.  If my agent says “no” and/or my editor concurs, then there’s always a free online serial.  I’m okay with that.  🙂   

Do you write what you want or do you worry about breaking the rules…and possibly ruining expectations?  Why?

10 thoughts on “Write What You Want

  1. Amen sister! Screw the rules – full speed ahead!

    You know me, rules are something other people follow. Better to view them as guidelines. Following the beaten path is just that – a rut.

    • Very true, Kath. I’ve always seen the rules as guidelines and have always found a way around them. That’s just who I am, and you, too, I suspect. I’m also betting that rut is the reason why people get burnt out on things like vampires and erotica. Anyone writing that stuff has to be able to bend the rules or chuck them all together, if they’re hoping to reach readers.

    • That’s great, Edie. I know you’re going to rock the world when you land your first deal. 🙂

      I don’t know if my ideas or marketable or not. I just write what I want while thinking, “I haven’t seen this before. Let me give it a try.” Since I’ve sold some stuff, I guess I must be doing something right. *shrug*

  2. I totally agree, Marcia! I have always written what I wanted to write and I will continue writing about things I would personally read. I’m working in different genres but it’s really about growing and understanding your growth. I’ve only written a handful of books but in five to ten years, I know when I look back I’ll be proud that I didn’t bend and that I continued being true to myself.

    • I didn’t bend and that I continued being true to myself.

      Heck, yeah! That’s what writing is all about and where you’ll most likely find your happiness. It doesn’t matter which genres you’re working in because that love you have for the craft will show in your stories. In the end, if you’re in love with it, your readers will be, too. 😉

  3. I used to be part of a writing group and one of the writer suggested “You should write main stream romance. There is a lot more money that.” I have nothing against money, but I have a lot against conforming in order to get an extra buck. I love and live paranormal fiction and urban fantasy. I can identify with these type of characters.

    So yes Marcia, “I’ll write what I want to write, and if you don’t like it, you don’t have to read it.”

    • You’ve got no worries from me. I’ll be reading your fiction. 😆

      I was once told that I should stick to horror because that sells better in the African American market. Now, I have no problem with writing horror, but I have a problem if said publisher only plans to push my books based on the skin color of my audience. Can we say greed? What happened to selling a good story to an audience period? Next thing you know, someone will be telling me I should stick to an African American cast or I need to add more slang in the dialogue to make it sound more like hood.

      Uh, no. There comes a point when a person who really cares about their dreams will put their foot down to protect them.

  4. I love your blog, so I’ve given you an award to prove it 😉 Please stop by my blog to claim it!

    Hm, pink might not go all that well with your blog\’s décor…

Leave a Reply

