On Demons – Part One

This is my first guest blog.  I normally don’t do them though I’m not sure why.  Nonetheless, I was very intrigued by the lovely Joan De La Haye, so I was flattered when she asked me to participate on her blog tour.  Not only that, but she let me pick the topic.  😈  So those who know me, shouldn’t be surprised that I wanted her to talk about her demon research. 

So without further ado, I present the amazing Joan De La Haye on the topic of demons…

*****

Since  publishing ‘Shadows’ and starting my Demon Friday posts on my blog, demons seem to be the main subject that everybody wants to talk to me about. Luckily it’s a topic that I find fascinating.

One of the main characters (and the most popular) in ‘Shadows’ is a demon, called Jack. Jack is a torment demon. In order to write about him in a convincing way I did a lot of research into what demons are thought to be, so I’m going to share what I found out with you.

There are many different theories around this particular subject. Every mage, or magician, or witch, you talk to will have a different idea on what a demon actually is. I’m talking about the real witches here not the Harry Potters of fiction. And yes, you really do get the real kind – but I think that’s a topic for another discussion.

Anyway…back to demons…here’s what Wikipedia had on the subject:

In religion, folklore, and mythology a demon (or daemon, dæmon, daimon from Greek δαίμων daimōn) is a supernatural being that is generally described as a malevolent spirit. In Christian terms demons are generally understood as a fallen angel, formerly of God. A demon is frequently depicted as a force that may be conjured and insecurely controlled. The “good” demon in recent use is largely a literary device (e.g., Maxwell’s demon), though references to good demons can be found in Hesiod and Shakespeare. In common language, to “demonize” a person means to characterize or portray them as evil, or as the source of evil.

For those of you, who like me had never heard of Maxwell, I went and looked up Mr Maxwell and his demon. This is what I found out: “Maxwell’s demon is a thought experiment, first formulated in 1867 by the Scottish physicist James Clerk Maxwell, meant to raise questions about the possibility of violating the second law of thermodynamics.”

Not sure about the rest of you, but that went right over my head. I did, however, find out that his demon or the idea behind it was used in several novels, music, films and even in computer games. If you want to know more about it, you can find it out here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maxwell%27s_demon

Moving on to the Goetia, in case you’re not familiar with the Goetia, it’s a very special Magickal text containing all sorts of interesting things about Demons and summoning them: all the things that most sane people don’t meddle with. The Goetia is a 17th century Grimoire.

According to my edition of The Goetia – The etymology stems from the root, “to divide (destinies).” So the word could designate one’s fate or destiny, or the spirit controlling one’s fate, one’s “genius.”

It goes on to say that some of the earliest records of minor spirits or spiritual entities – that were not  well-established gods or goddesses – come from Sumeria and Babylonia, where they were understood to be frequently attached to, but quite distinct from, individual people. Like us, these spirits had both good and bad qualities and were an accepted fact of everyday life.

Can you imagine having a demon as a part of your everyday life? How creepy would that be….

Well, actually that’s what my main character, Sarah, gets to find out in ‘Shadows’.

That’s the end of Part One. Part 2 continues on the 17th at http://amberkatze-amberkatze.blogspot.com/ 

*****

Blurb for Shadows:

Sarah is forced to the edge of sanity by the ghosts of her family’s past. Suffering from violent and bloody hallucinations, she seeks the help of psychiatrist and friend, Michael Brink.

After being sent to an institution in a catatonic state covered in blood – from stabbing her unfaithful boyfriend – Sarah is forced to confront the truth about her father’s death and the demon, Jack, who caused her father’s suicide and who is now the reason for her horrific hallucinations. Unlike her father, Sarah refuses to kill herself. She bargains for her life and succeeds.

In Sarah’s struggle to regain her life and her sanity, she discovers there is more to the world than she could ever have imagined, and it leaves her seeking the answer to the nagging question, “Who is really mad?”

Mobipocket: http://www.mobipocket.com/en/eBooks/BookDetails.asp?BookID=131111&Origine=4580
Amazon (Kindle): http://www.amazon.com/Shadows/dp/B001PC9Z94

Shadows will be on sale at 35% off for the duration of the tour.  Woohoooooooo!  🙂

19 thoughts on “On Demons – Part One

  1. Joan, I love books with tortured characters, and yours seem very nicely tortured. Demon’s are good for that. And they’re in, too, with the new movie out this week, Angels and Demons. Maybe demons are the new vampire. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Day Twelve of Shadows blog book tour « Joan De La Haye’s Weblog

  3. I agree with Edie – daemons are the new vampires and about time! Don’t forget about the great show Supernatural. I can’t wait for Shadows the Series!

    Keep writing Joan, I want more Jack!!

  4. I’m with Edie. Demons are definitely the new vampire. There’s so much you can do with them in writing these days.

    Mark, funny you should mention Supernatural. I just recently started getting into that show. Thankfully, there are places like Hulu where I can catch up on the series.

    And like Cat, thanks for sharing the information, Joan. You ROCK!! 😀

  5. Well if I had to share my life with a demon, I would definitely choose the Sumerian kind. Preferably great looking and with the power to make all my dreams come true–all of them! Oh, and he has to be absolute crazy about me. And if his friends have several raws of teeth and fangs that aren’t sexy, then they can’t come to the house! That’s final!

    On a more serious note. I really liked this post. I am Pagan and I have read a bit about demons, but to tell you the truth, they scare me. Something that can be good and evil, that has that much power, and no soul to hold him/her accountable has to be scary.

    I can’t wait to find out more about Sarah and her demon.

    • 😆 I can’t think of a demon I’d like to shre my life with. Like you, demons scare me. But then again, it could be because I watch so many supernatural shows (ie. Ghost HUnters and Paranormal State) where what the hunters think are ghosts actually turn out to be demons. Scares the be-jeebers out of me. But for some sadistic reason, I keep watching. Let’s just say knowledge is power and leave it at that.

      And I know this is like two weeks late, but Happy belated Beltane! I’m not Pagan, but I had to do some research for STRIPPED. 😉

      • Marcia Colette! Are you trying to get me to read STRIPPED? Are you telling me that there is a bit of Paganism somewhere in there? Are you? No, really tell me, I want know 😉

        • 😆 It’s totally up to you to read STRIPPED. No forcing my books on anyone. And yes, there is a tad of Paganism in there, though I might have taken a few liberties to make it different from other books I’ve read. 😕 I started building the Pagan world in this book, so I’m hoping to continue it in book two.

  6. I’m so glad you guys all enjoyed my post!
    I love Supernatural!
    Demons have been playing second fiddle to Vampires for way too long now. It’s only fair that they get to have some fun as well!

    Thanks so much for stopping by and letting me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

