I *heart* Readers

Have I ever mentioned how much I love my readers?  Probably not.  Sadly, it’s one of those things that always seems to slip my mind because I’m so immersed in the writing aspect of the craft.  So, let me proclaim it now.  I LOVE my readers.

My BFF Debbie is one of the coolest chicks around.  This past Easter weekend, I got a chance to meet the rest of her family/crew, which I affectionately call the Clayton Pack.  They welcomed me in to their home and pretty much cheated at Phase 10.  Well…not all of them.  😉  I won’t mention the person who had.  But nonetheless, you gotta love ’em. 

One of the awesomest people I met was Krystal, Debbie’s niece.  I found out she had read Unstable Environment in one freakin’ day!  Now whether or not it was good, I’m not asking.  I’m just thrilled that she read my book and made it through to the end without hurling it across the room.  When it comes to my readers, that’s all I ask for.  While I care if they like my work or not, I’m more concerned with whether they’ve managed to finish it.  If people knew the authors whose works I couldn’t finish to save my neck, they might think I was crack-brained.  So that’s why I’m thrilled whenever I learn someone has made it to the end of my book(s).  HUGS to Krystal!  Girlfriend really made my day.  😀

Readers are the coolest folks around.  They have no idea how much power that have over us writers.  It’s not so much about getting their money or the reviews they leave on review sites–I don’t read them anyway.  To me, it’s about capturing their imaginations and sharing a journey with them.  That’s where the real power lies with both reader and writer.  Readers can either accept the mission or completely bail on it .  If they bail, then I’ve failed my task.  If they see it through to the end, then they’ve lifted me to cloud nine.  The liking or not liking my book comes second because opinions can just like the Powerball numbers. 

This post goes out to all of my readers.  You guys are awesome!

What’s important to you?  That someone has read your work or what they thought of it?  And whenever you recommend a book to someone, is it more important that the trust your judgment enough to read it or what they think of it?

12 thoughts on “I *heart* Readers

  1. I’m grateful for my CPs for reading my book. LOL I read UE and loved it! That could be me the book is hugging in the picture — if I were taller and younger. 😉

    I might use that pic on Magical Musings some day.

  2. Edie, I thought that was a wonderful picture to use when it comes to how much authors love their readers.

    And thank you for reading UE and even more for loving it. I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of your book, fresh off the shelf. That’s right, I said it because I wholeheartedly believe it. 😉

  3. Well said! Although I haven’t been published yet, I’m grateful to the people who read my blog and not only comment but come back again another day. It makes me feel more connected, more understood, which I think is at the root of a lot of writing and reading.

  4. I never thought of it like that before but it’s definitely more important that someone has read your book. I too have stopped reading many books before ever reaching the end. So to hear they made it to the end – I like to think it’s a compliment and not a testimony to their endurance.

  5. I love hearing from readers . . . the best are those emails where someone says the book changed her life, or she laughed at a dark time in her life, or the book made for an escape from a tough time and they got “lost” in the book.

    As for recommendations . . . I almost always frame mine with, “If you like thrillers then this one might be for you . . .” and say a little bit about it. I realize that a lot of times my reading tastes are pretty eclectic, so I try to make sure it’s a book I think that person will enjoy.

  6. As a writer, I think the number one priority must be the reader, always.

    As an unpublished author, I long for the day someone other than an agent, contest judge or pseudo beta reader says simply, “I loved the story!” That said, last weekend I had my sister and her hubby over for Easter dinner. Afterward I chatted with my sister regarding books. She brought it up, and commented on the books she’s been getting via her Doubleday membership. She said something to the effect that even though most are good, none were as good as the manuscripts of mine that she’s read. Big hug ensued! Sure, she’s my sister and biggest fan, but she knows I’ve stepped away from fiction writing. Her comments came as a reader, not as a family member. (That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.) That made my day.

    I rarely recommend reads. My tastes are too wonky for the normal reader.

  7. Caryn, I think that’s why I’m more apt to go nuts when I find out someone has read my book. 😆 Even better when I meet them at a convention where I don’t hesitate to show my fun side. There’s that connection with readers when you’ve shared your thoughts with them whether it’s in fiction or blog form.

  8. Ryshia, whenever someone reads my book, I know those 6+ months I’ve spent writing it haven’t gone for naught. Reaching out to someone like that is what I call a success and definitely a hug compliment. As writers, that’s when we know we’ve done our job. 😀

  9. 😆 Erica, I’m glad I’m not the only one with eclectic tastes when it comes to reading.

    And YES to hearing from readers!! That’s better than knowing they’ve made it to the end of my book. Knowing you’ve put a spark in someone else’s life or made them smile on a bad day makes slaving over a manuscript for months all the more worth it…and enough to sustain a writer while he/she slaves through their next book.

  10. Kath, that is a huge compliment, especially since you’re not writing for publication anymore. Readers like her make this all the more while to do what we do.

    And like you said, the reader must be first and foremost. Otherwise, you won’t find yourself writing for very long. Writing to a bestseller list or the hottest thing on the markert will only get you so far. Readers are smart and they’ll see it. That’s why I love my readers. They keep it real.

  11. Darnit! I did it again…posted on the wrong section. I’m so out of it…

    This is what I said:

    I find that readers who bought my book and gave it a read made my day. I’ve been lucky that I’ve picked up new readers through word of mouth and when I get a nice email or someone tells me in person they love my book, I get all mushy inside.

    BTW. An author friend of mine mentioned that they saw an ad of Unstable Environment and it made them want to pick it up…that’s when they discovered I had designed it and was equally pleased. So, we both get kudos. LOL

  12. 😆 Jax, girl, I love you.

    Like I said before, fan mail is the best. Reading your book is one of the best highs than an author can get. I hugged my hair stylist when I found out she had mentioned my book to some of her friends.

    And huge HUGS to your author friend!! :mrgreen: My eyes lit up when I read that. Hoooooooney, with friends like yours, I don’t mind sharing the kudos at all. I can’t tell you how many compliments I received about the cover of UE. Needless to say, I love sending them to your website. 😉

Leave a Reply

