Happy Inauguration Day!

I don’t know about you guys, but I have a very good reason for wanting to be a better person in all that I do.  Dr. King is smiling down on all of us right now, seeing one color and that’s that color of Hope. 

Though I have a feeling President Obama won’t be able to do everything he promised, I have no doubt that he’s going to do his damnedest to try.  That’s good enough for me.

I’m also thankful to be sitting home on my couch and watching the inauguration on TV.  It beats being there in person where everyone on center stage looks like a speck of shivering dust.  🙂 And since NC has declared a State of Emergency with the 3+ inches of snow (I kid you not), I guess that means I’ll be baking cookies today.

By the way.  Did anyone notice Bush strutting down the hall?  That man has a bottle of Jack Daniels and a Stogy waiting for him when he gets home.  😆

One of my favorite lines during Mr. Obama’s speech…

Know that your people will judge you on what you can build, not what you destroy.

This is true for everyone regardless of who you are, where you came from, or what you believe. 

Here’s another…

This is the meaning of our liberty and our creed — why men and women and children of every race and every faith can join in celebration across this magnificent Mall, and why a man whose father less than 60 years ago might not have been served at a local restaurant can now stand before you to take a most sacred oath.

Wow.

By the way.  If you missed the inauguration and/or would like a replay, hit up Kathy Calarco’s blow-by-blow commentary.  It’s hiliarious!  😆

14 thoughts on “Happy Inauguration Day!

  1. LOL. Marcia, you are a trip! Bush is ready to go, and I don’t blame him.

    I hope the people of this nation can work together to support our new president and our nation.

    Enjoy the snow!!

  2. Tivi, I’m just sayin’, you know? 😆

    I know I look forward to this becoming a better nation. It’s about time and we’re well over due to making that happen.

    And yes, I’m enjoying the snow! 😀

  3. His comment about his father hit home with me. And even fifty years ago a black person in sports couldn’t dine with his team, black musicians not allowed to enter a club via the front door.

    And then Sammy Davis Jr. married a white woman. Nothing says “In your face” better than that.

    This is the moment the world needed.

  4. Kath, I get heated every time I think about SOMEONE in our family who referred to my biracial nieces as “those checkerboard children.” Today is proof we’ve come a long way from that kind of bigoted thinking. In fact, they are the reason some of my stories feature a biracial heroine.

    And speaking of the world, I loved it when the reporters showed shots from Berlin and London where people were glued to their television screens. The looks on their faces was confirmation enough for me that we finally got it right. Yayyyyyyyyy! 😀

  5. My concerns with Obama were lack of experience (not that experience necessarily says someone is better suited to do something. I know I’ve run into situations where I KNEW I could do something but lack of experience shot me down for the job, meanwhile someone with experience who I knew wasn’t as good, got it. So why this became a major issue for me I’ll never know.)

    And his VP choice, I’m pretty ambivalent about Joe Biden. (Though I thought he handled himself pretty well in the VP debate.)

    Though now that he’s in office, I’m pretty excited about it. I’m excited that we don’t have another “white male president.” In the “land of opportunity” the message we send when the only presidents are white males, is that there is still a lot of division and lack of equality floating around.

    I’d like to see a woman president next!

  6. I was a little worried about the “lack of experience” part, too, Zoe. But I had to remind myself of why the president surrounds himself with so many people. That’s where he’s most likely going to draw his experience from. I’m okay with that.

    And it’s funny you should say that about a woman president. I was thinking the same thing, once Obama’s run and done. 😉 For once, I can see where anything is possible.

  7. I was just saying on Melanie’s blog though that Dubya was looking REALLY old and maybe that’s why we haven’t had a woman prez yet. She doesn’t want to brave the risk of accelerated aging.

Leave a Reply

