Progress

I hope everyone survived the holidays in one piece.  I did.  Other than heading over to a friend’s place for Christmas dinner, I sat around part of the day watching the Ski Patrol marathon on TruTV.  Gosh, I miss skiing.  I’m seriously thinking about strapping on my ski boots and doing a trip this winter.  However, finding people to go with me is the hard part.  Skiing isn’t any fun if you’re doing it alone.  Only one thing.  I’m a green circle chick.  When I see black diamonds, I see my life flash before my eyes.  😆 So if you or someone you know is willing, send them my way.

Anyway…

Today, I took my car into the Nissan dealership for servicing.  I debated on whether to bring a book or my laptop so I could get back into the writing groove again.  Anything was better than sitting there in the waiting room and watching the TV on the wall that will most likely have sports or the news on.  I’m not a fan of either. 

Well, it turned out that bringing the laptop was the better of the two choices.  Forty-five minutes later and a cramp in my neck due to the crappy seats, and I had five pages written.  Who would’ve thought?  I certainly didn’t.  Next time I have to bring my car in for servicing, I’m bringing the laptop. 

Usually, if I take my writing beyond my home, I’m sitting at a coffee house or a book store.  I get some writing done there, though not much.  Of all the places to make progress on my next WIP and it had to cost me $48.00.  Oh well…

Where are some of the more unusual places where you’ve made progress?

PS.  Hmmmm.  The more I think about it, the more I should turn that skiing trip into a research trip.  😉

17 thoughts on “Progress

  1. I used to sit in my car at lunch breaks and write in a notebook. And $48 is cheap!

    Skiing sounds like fun. That would make you a ski bunny, wouldn’t it? 😀

  2. I’ve started many stories on a plane and jotted random scenes in airports. But without a notebook, okay with a notebook – the primitive, paper kind. My other time filler place to write is noon hour at work.

    Skiing as a research trip – is there even a consideration there – I say go for it! Of course lately I’m not sure whose listening to me as the leak in the basement is expanding and every one is ignoring my dire warnings. But I digress, almost all my trips are research trips. Than when you come home you get to relive the trip every day for the next how many until you’re sick of it. LOL – Okay, so maybe there’s a downside.

  3. $48 is cheap? Edie, remind me never to get my oil changed in Wisconsin. 😆

    The only thing I’ve done in my car is read. If I can’t write on a computer then chances are I’ll choke on my notepad. Writing by hand just isn’t natural for me anymore.

  4. 😆 Ryshia, I’ve done the same thing on too many blogs to count.

    And now that I think about it, I take that back. I have used a notepad and pen and under the same conditions you stated. At my previous job when I used to travel–gone three out of four weeks–I did a lot of writing on the airplane. For some reason that was when the ideas seemed to overflow.

    As for the skiing, I just got off the Sugar Loaf website. I have one more week off. It seems like such a waste not to hit the slopes of Sugar Loaf here in NC or take a trip up to Wintergreen in WV. Ooooooooo, I need to find a skiing partner! 😀

  5. Hey Marcia, had to smile at your car dealership story. I did the same thing last year, and made some serious tracks. I was shocked to actually jump in the flow and get so much done too. Who would’ve thought, is right.

    The wierdest place for me was listening to my Ipod in the dentist chair, and gathering my characters close for a one-on-one session. LOL. Moral support and all that, I guess. Walked away with a few new ideas, though.

  6. I plan on bringing my laptop with me tomorrow when I go to get my chemo. 😆 That’s a solid five hours of sitting, so I may as well make it productive. Napping is always an option, but I plan to try writing.

  7. OMG, Ladonna! The last thing I’m thinking about in the dentist chair is writing. Unless I’m trying to come up with a horror story. Maybe I should try that next Friday when I’m letting my lovely dentist replace an old filling. Heaven only knows what I’ll come up with while gripping the armrest to knuckle whiteness. 😆

  8. Ack. I hear you, Liz. I had friend who got tons of reading down while on dialysis. The doctor’s office is infamous for sitting around and waiting, so you might as well make the best of it. 😉

  9. Do you mean serious progress in writing? 🙂

    There’s always some sort of write-relating going on in my head. Today, for instance, I was thinking about my WIP as I returned from the mall. No pen or paper in sight, and even it there were, I was driving so, well, that’d be crazy. So here’s what I did – spoke my scene out loud. Once I got home I hand wrote them. The scene isn’t gonna happen for another few chapters, but at least I have an idea that didn’t get sucked into the swiss cheese known as my brain.

  10. Aw Kath. You can’t text while you’re driving? 😆 Just kidding. When it comes to difficult scenes, I do the same thing. I talk out loud through my scene to dive further into my heads of my characters. Whether I’m at home or in the car, it makes no difference. By the time all I said and done, I have a scene and/or a roadmap to get there. I LOVE it when that happens.

  11. I used to love to ski but haven’t been in years. Although I would push myself to do the blues and even sometimes blacks, it was the greens that were my favorites because I could just coast and enjoy the scenery and the feel of the snow under my feet. Hope you find someone to ski with. 🙂

  12. Caryn, you’re a woman after my own heart. 😀 That’s the reason why I stick to the greens. The blues aren’t so bad, if it weren’t for the stupid moguls cluttering up the top of the trails. Assuming I survive them, the rest is a nice coast downhill. But give me the greens anyday. No wild maniacs on them. Or rather, less of a chance they’re on them.

  13. I’m with you, Zoe. I can’t wait until it’s all over. Although, I’m not looking forward to going back to work. I’m having too much fund burning up some serious tracks on my latest WIP.

  14. Hey Marcia, I don’t know how to ski, but I have been dying to go. The problem?? I can’t convince anyone to go with me, LOL.

    So keep me in the loop if a trip is on the horizon– I mean, there are slopes easier than green right….

  15. 😆 LaTessa, girl, you just say when. And yes, there are slopes a lot easier. It’s called the Bunny Slope and usually, there’s only one. That’s assuming they have ’em. If they don’t, then they take you over to a semi-flat area on the green circle and hope go through the lessons.

Leave a Reply

