Wednesday is Wednesday is Wednesday

If I hear one more person talking about Black Wednesday and the doom and gloom of the publishing industry, I’m going to scream.  I’ve purposely been avoiding blogs and news regarding the layoffs and no-pay-increases in NY because it doesn’t help to dwell on it.  The economy sucks everywhere.  What makes writers/agents/editors/readers think that the publishing world is this Mount Olympus that it can’t be touched?  Correct me if I’m wrong, but someone forgot to send that memo.  Though I can avoid blogs and internet news articles, I can’t avoid my writerly friends when we’re face to face because I adore their friendship.  However, I still want to shake the worry out of them.

Here’s an idea.  Continue on like business as usual.  I can’t do anything about those editors getting their jobs back, authors losing contracts, or agents not making sales.  And believe me, I feel for them because I’ve been  in layoff land more times than I’m willing to admit.  So forgive me if this sounds a bit terse, but I can’t give them a job.  I’d like to, but it’s not going to happen.  However, I can do something about my writing.  That’s where my head is right now.  For all of the time we put into worrying about layoffs in NY, we could have read a book, written one, or perhaps sold one.  Enough already!  Control what’s in your power to control, but leave it at that.  Otherwise, you’re going to drive yourself insane and I’m sure as hell not going with you.  Love ya, but I know my limits.  😉

As for the person who came up with “Black Wednesday”, shame on them for even qualifying the publishing downturn with a name.  Now, everyone is talking about it and the panic is only getting worse.  What’s to be gained by sending everyone into a tizzy?  From what I can tell, it has done nothing to prevent job and wage losses.  Whenever we give something a name, we empower it to do more damage.  We should be treating it no different than any of the other fifty-two Wednesdays in a year. 

By the way, this isn’t an-out-of-sight-out-of-mind post.  This is about empowering you with some optimism.  Just like the gas crisis that happened a few months ago–Remember that?–this, too, shall pass.  When it does, my manuscripts will be ready.  Will yours?  I plan to keep submitting, hoping, and going about life as usual.  I plan to promote my books every chance I get.  I plan to write sequels and new stories and perhaps, venture into a new genre.  I.  Plan.  Period.  It certainly can’t hurt anything and it takes my mind off everything. 

So instead of thinking about all the doom and gloom, give it a rest and get back to what you love.  Your worrywartness will thank you for it.  Unless, spouting doom and gloom is your thing.  If so, then have it.  Just don’t send me an invitation to your pessimistic party. 

Who’s with me?  Are you a pessimist of Whacked Wednesday or an optimist of Thrive Thursday?  What’s your plan for keep on keeping on?

16 thoughts on “Wednesday is Wednesday is Wednesday

  1. I’m with you Marcia. Put me down for optimist of Thrive Thursday! Of course we’re in charge of writing happy endings so let us get hold of this story and write that ending. Seriously, there is nothing we can do and although this is bad we know the media loves to hype the bad and make it even worse. Bad news sells. I feel bad for those in the publishing industry too but they aren’t all losing their jobs. Some of them are carrying on just like us, day to day. And that’s exactly what I’m doing just writing and carrying on with business. I do have to admit to turning off the radio whenever the economy is mentioned. I allow myself a twice a week reality check where I catch up on the economic news and that’s it.

  2. Ryshia, you nailed it! Happy Endings. That’s our this business. We should writing about them, not dwelling in the unhappy ones. Every time we have something bad to say about publishing, we’re enabling the bad media. What kind of people are we if we get off on hearing the bad while not concentrating or trying to create some good?

    It’s bad out there in the publishing. There’s no denying it. But the only way I know how to fix it is staying the course. I’ve turned tuning out bad economic news to a fine art, though I get little bits and pieces just by the nature of my day job. Other than that, I try to keep it at bay the best I can.

    Thrive on, sister! 🙂

  3. I hear you, Edie. If people want to wallow in the gloom, they can go for it. But I have a feeling those of us who choose to thrive will be one step ahead of them with this economic turmoil lifts.

  4. Hey Marcia, make it another Thrive Thursday! 🙂 To show how I really avoid gloom and doom, I hadn’t heard of the Black Wednesday thing. LOL. Talk about a hoot!

    I’m focused on my path, and that’s about it. The friends I share my journey with, are doing the same thing with theirs. Thanks for keeping it real here!

  5. So true, especially the part about how if we give something a name, we automatically give it more power. And you’re right — worrying about it won’t help anything, past spurring people to make contingency plans just in case.

  6. I’m with LaDonna. I didn’t hear of any Black Wednesday. How trite of whomever is in charge of slogans. Screw them, and I hope they don’t quit their day job. I don’t give a rat’s ass about job loss in the publishing industry. I think they’ve used the sad economy as an excuse to lay people off. (I’m all about conspiracy, lol.)

    And another thing – those writers blogging about “the reality of being a published writer” making it sound like “Careful what you wish for.” Why they feel a need to vent about it isn’t my problem and also not my reality. (I’ve taken those nay-sayers out of my blog rotation – so there!)

    If writers find writing and the road to publication that awful, then maybe they need to reinvent the wheel.

  7. Thrive Thursday right into Fab Friday and Super Sales for all of us Saturday!

    (okay, so Saturday might need edited down to become a bit more catchy, but you get the idea) 😉

    And, Kath, I don’t think those sulky writers need to invent the wheel–they just need to choose another road to travel, because the road to publication is almost guaranteed to have bumps and twists. Whee!

  8. I’ve never heard the term Black Wednesday. I think someone just made that one up because they didn’t have anything better to do. I sure haven’t noticed a lack of sales at my local book stores. On my day job you can’t turn a corner without finding someone reading a book.

    Put me down for optimist on Thrive Thursday.

    Melissa NC

  9. While everyone’s been freaking out about the publishing industry, I’ve been writing, plotting, researching. It doesn’t hurt to keep going because publishers still need to buy books. Okay, so maybe the competition is a little tougher with less slots, but it doesn’t mean you should just pout about it and slack off. This is the time to up your game. Do your best work and submit as usual. Like everything else, the economy will turn around and while everyone else has been too busy being depressed, you’ll have a stack of submissions ready to go! 🙂

  10. Exactly, Caren. I think if someone hadn’t slapped a name on it, nobody would’ve known or been the wiser. They would’ve just said publishing is having a hard time now and gone about their business. Qualifying it with a name only means we’re giving it more attention it deserves. Attention that can be utilized elsewhere.

  11. Funny, Kath, I’ve been thinking the same thing for the long time. How much is this really based on the economy and how much are the job losses based on poor performance or attitude? Right now, the economy is a wonderful scapegoat to get rid of people that managers don’t like.

    The thing I find interesting is some of the writer blogs I’ve gone visited (don’t anymore) is they’re moaning about how worried they are that acquisitions have gone down and they might not sell. I don’t believe that. A good book trumps everything, including an economic downturn. 😉

  12. Thrive Thursday right into Fab Friday and Super Sales for all of us Saturday!

    😆 I’m with you, Lainey. Keeping the good days rollin’! Saturday is just fine the way it is, especially since it has “sales” in the name.

    The economy is just one more sinkhole to contend with. Like the rest of them in my road to publication, I go around or take a detour until I’ve cleared it. My writing doesn’t stop. It shouldn’t do anything to stop us from keeping our eyes on the prize.

  13. Very true, Melissa. If there’s a problem in my local bookstore, then it’s more so with the store than the publishing industry. Readers are plentiful in there, whether they’re faces are stuff in a book or magazine, or gulping down coffee. I doubt any of them are aware of “Black Wednesday” and probably could care less. As long as they have something good to read, they’re set. I certainly don’t mind being the person to provide that for them, either.

    That’s why I’m happily thriving and surviving. 😉

  14. Jax, you’re a woman after my own heart. 😉

    I agree, the competition will be a little bit tougher, but for some reason my brain has a hard time registering what it can’t see. If anything, publishers will probably get the best stories ever out of writers because they’re not looking for great books anymore. They’re looking for phenominal. The only way to find that story is to keep writing until we find it. I’ve got no problem with that. Maybe somewhere in our stacks of WIPs, we’ll find THE ONE. We’ll never know if we spend more time pouting about it than writing it.

Leave a Reply

