Deadline

Every writer has one, including me.  I promised my fabulous editor at Parker that I’d have the completed manuscript for the second book in my werecheetah series, THE HIVE, in her email by December.  Though I can’t recall if she said December 1st or not, I’m making it my deadline.

So that means I’ll be head’s down like the image on the right.  Only, no pipe and hopefully not as haggard.  Maybe a little crazed in the head, perhaps, but definitely prettier.  😉

I’ve picked and prodded this story more than enough.  I’ve come up with things to up the ante and make the prose shine.  Thank you, Margie Lawson.  Right now, I’m working on the final polish, and then that’s it.  No more.  In fact, I’m sick to death of it.

Don’t get me wrong.  I love this story.  I had a fabulous time writing it because I had fun trying things I’ve never tried before.  Creature and world-building wise, that is.  But given the context of the story, there’s a chance that it might be classified as an urban fantasy with strong romantic elements.  Maybe even go so far as a horror romance.  To be honest with you, I simply don’t know.  So, I’ll leave the classification up to my editor to decide.  She’s gonna love that one!  😆

 

There’s a good chance that I’ll be AWOL on the blog for a while, too.  I’d prefer to have the edits done before Thanksgiving, if possible.  That will give me plenty of time to start something new that I’ve been mulling over for a while now.

So I close with this question.  What do you do when you get sick to death of a story you love?

22 thoughts on “Deadline

  1. Marcia, you’re an inspiration! You go! And Margie is the best!

    When I get sick to death of a story? I slog on anyway. Just like you’re doing. I think that’s what most professionals do. Of course you can set it aside, but once I get to the “sick of it” point, it takes me a loooong time to get past that.

  2. Well, I am right now working on a fun promo site to tie into the free ebook. hehe. But I’m down to interior layout in the ebook. I’m really pushing to get those two things done this week.

  3. Thanks, Edie. 🙂 I hate slogging away, but it’s one of those things that has to be done. The only thing I dread worse than the “sick of it” phase is the edits. That only means I have to read it again. Argh!

  4. You go, Zoe!! I’ll tell you, nothing was sweeter than to open up my ebook and see that they really took time with the interior, the layout, and those cute pawprints on each new chapter. Just do it and threw everything you have into it. Trust me, it makes a huge difference when it doesn’t look like every other book out there. 😉

  5. 😆 That’s the problem, Kath. I’ve been moving onto other victims and even finished revisions on two books in the process. I’ve been a bad girl. Now, I can’t afford it anymore. Blast! 😦

  6. hehe damn, I’m not going to have paw prints. 😦

    I’ve got a big learning curve ahead of me. I’m doing the best I can with it, but I recognize it’s not going to be perfect and that it takes months to learn even really basic interior layout skills.

  7. That’s all you can do at this point, Zoe. Your best. Nothing is ever perfect, even in some of the books done by NY pubbed authors. And if certain editors keep slacking on the editing, then the imperfection will only get worse. But I’m not going there. 😉 that’s for another blog.

    I’ve learned to accept my imperfection, bask it in, and move on. As long as I’m cool with the overall end product, I’m good all the way around. LOL!

  8. On both the upside and the downside there is only 12 days to endure. What keeps me going is the promise of that fresh story waiting on the sidelines and the thought of what it will mean once that book is published. That and my cheering section. Right now – I’m cheering, I’m pounding through NaNoWrimo and cheering you because if you do it, I can do it and finish my dratted first draft.

    Go Marcia!

    Ryshia

  9. Actually, and I know this sounds AWFUL, but I do kind of hope the NY editing keeps slacking. If only because it will start to open more people’s eyes up to the idea that, if a book looks good, if the cover isn’t horrible, if you read an excerpt and you like it, it doesn’t matter WHO published it, whether it’s independently put out, our put out by a major publisher.

    There are flaws in all books, and the sooner that is self evident, the better it is for all authors. Of course, then I’d want the quality to go back up for NY edited books, because there is no reason those authors should suffer for bad editing. I’d just like it if people “got” that about books.

    Though, I’m not sure, but I THINK your average reader already doesn’t care. The stigma is among writers themselves. Which is kind of sucky, but whatever, lol.

  10. Marcia, I can afford to skip around and goof off because I’m not looking down the publishing path right now, but for the past four months I’ve stuck with one ms, so guess I’m buckling down. :-O

  11. I’m on December 4th. I always hate, hate, hate my stories by the time I’ve gone through them a million times. I don’t know what to do about that. I suppose if you can keep it rich and interesting when you’re sick to death of it, then it should be fresh and lively for a reader’s “once” reading of it.

    I don’t know. I just push through that stage. Hate it, though!

  12. You go yourself, Ryshia! 🙂 I’ll be cheering you from the sidelines with NaNoWrimo.

    Mmmm. So true about the fresh story. The thrill. The excitement. I can’t wait to get there, which is why I’m trying to slog through revisions now. All the more juicier the feel toward the new story. Adn by then, I will have worked out some of the plot kinks in my brain.

  13. Believe it or not, Zoe, I understand where you’re coming from. Really, I do. I’ll take your point and extend it bit further by saying, this is not the time for publishers to slack on quality when they’re already hurting. Crying rivers for people to buy books isn’t going to work, now that people are REALLY watching where their money is going. That’s true of any publisher regardless of the size or location.

    And yes, I’ve had readers who don’t care where, who, or how my book was published. They’re more concerned with how they can get their hands on a copy. That certainly works for me. 🙂

  14. Kath, if you goof off, I’ll kill ya. 😆

    Stick to that story as long as it takes. There isn’t any “expiration date” for what we do, so it’s not like good writing will spoil. Those publishers will be there whenever you’re ready for them. In the mean time, take your time and let that writing sparkle.

  15. Same here, Spy. I’m pushing through. Whenever I’ve written something to death and can’t stand it anymore, I leave it alone and turn to something else. That happened a lot with this story and that was because I didn’t really like what I thought was a winner. When I buckled down and asked myself, “What do you really want out of this story?” I found the flow much easier and less changes this go around.

    Stick with girlfriend. You’ll make it. 😉

  16. Get to work! I owe them a project for January…I just finished one deadline the other day…so I know exactly what you’re feeling.

    Can’t wait to read this new project. If it’s as awesome as the first, you’re doing great! 🙂

  17. Jax!! Just allow me this moment of gittiness. 😆 I bow to your amazing design skills, girlfriend…and I hear your whip cracking over my head.

    Thank you for the fabulous compliment. I can’t tell you how many people (readers and writers) have asked me about my fabulous cover. I just point your awesome website. So, if you’re doing my cover again, I KNOW it’s in good hands.

    Okay, going heads down and back to work. 🙂

    And by the way. Congrats on your newest release Art of Sensuality. Verra nice!

Leave a Reply

