Yes, We Can and We Did

Someone pinch me, because I’m dreaming.

As I write this, I’m watching McCain give what sounds like a concession speech.  For once in that man’s campaign, I think this was the best freakin’ speech he had ever given.  Not because Obama won, but because I honestly hear the sincerity in his voice.  It’s like a regret that he ran his campaign the way he did.  I could easily be wrong or in denial.  To Senator McCain, I offer this: “Thanks for showing me the guy who I liked so long ago and not the one I thought was smoking crack between speeches.”

As for President Obama…mmmm mmmm mmmm.  How sweet it is. 

Every time I thought about you becoming the next President of the United States, I couldn’t help think of the stories my grandmother passed down to us kids about the humiliation she suffered at the hands of the Jim Crow Laws.  Many times, she had to shut her mouth as a little girl or run from the racist bastards who threatened to do horrible things to her because of the color of her skin.  It hurts me to hear those stories, but I know I have to.  I want to know where my grandmother came from.  I want to understand her struggles.  Why?  Because it makes me appreciate the life I have now even more.  I can’t tell you how much your win means to my grandmother, considering where she came from.  Though we live hundreds of miles apart, I wouldn’t be surprised if she woke up with tears in her eyes and a huge smile on her face.  This is an election I never thought I’d live to see, so I can’t imagine what she’s thinking.

Let’s face it folks.  There’s no way on earth anyone can deny this is the most historic presidental race ever.  But what makes this so amazing is it took black people, white people, Hispanic people, old people, young people.  PEOPLE.  It took EVERYONE to see this historic day.  Not just one race.  It took a United States of America to do what we did.  At this rate, we can achieve anything.

President Obama, I congratulate you.  You have rewritten history and I’ve got my fingers crossed the next four years will be better than the last ones.  While I don’t expect you to do everything you promised, the fact that you’re going to fight tooth and nail to make it happen is good enough for me.  You’ve got a tough economic year ahead of you because someone just gave you a jacked up Yugo that you have to remodel into a sparkling BMW.  But you don’t need me to tell you that.  You’ve been listening to it for months now.  Just do ALL of us proud.  Treat us Main Street folks right.

I can’t wait to see pictures of your beautiful daughters running through the yard of the White House and the lovely First Lady at your side.  That’s when I’ll know this is real.

This is history, baby!!  Hot damn!  I can’t believe I’m a part of it.  I can’t believe I participated in it.  You bet my children will know not only about my grandmother’s struggles, but they’ll know about this amazing time in my history, too.  😉

 

Okay, I think I need to end this now.  There are so many tears of joy in my eyes that I can hardly read what I’m writing anymore.  🙂

 

Thoughts?

*UPDATE* In case you’re wondering, as it stands, Obama is ahead here in North Carolina by 12,000 votes.  My guess as to why it’s not being called yet is because of the provisional and absentee ballots.  Keep in mind NC hasn’t gone Democrat since Carter.  Believe me when I say every vote counts.

19 thoughts on “Yes, We Can and We Did

  1. Marcia, I’ve been happy all day. It’s like my body knew this would happen. I walked into the church to vote this morning bouncing on the balls of my feet.

    I missed the speeches. I’ll catch them tomorrow.

    I’m glad your grandmother could see this day. I’m glad we all saw it. 🙂

  2. I’ve been on pins and needles all day. It wasn’t until I called my mother tonight and we watched the numbers jump to Obama’s favor that I jumped off the couch and screamed in excitement. That’s when the tears first started. They finished just as Obama finished his speech. 🙂

  3. Spy, I know exactly what you mean. When the first numbers came in and it showed McCain ahead, I sighed and turned the channel to watch old episodes of House. Of course, the agony of not knowing killed me, so I surfed some channels until I came to the race. 207 to 134 with Obama in the lead. Of course, I called my mom to see what she thought about all this and BAM! There it was. “Presidential Elect Obama wins” flashed across my screen. I think I screamed my mother’s ear off.

    Anyway, the tears flowed into this morning. I just hope I can make it through the rest of the day in one piece and with a huge smile on my face. 😉

  4. I think if McCain had showed this kind of sincerity and used his own words like this during the campaign he would have had a better shot.

    In that speech I think a lot of what makes him an American hero, came to the forefront.

    I’m glad we’ve got our first black president. It was a long time coming to end the “white man reign” (as opposed to latino, black, indian, female, etc. I mean even the UK got Margaret Thatcher, come on now.)

    Either way it was going to be historic. The first female VP or the first black prez. My only fear with Obama is that he’s democrat and that makes me worry about socialized medicine a bit, but JVZ over on Erica’s blog assures me that fear is inflated. I hope so.

    I’m not for big government, and that’s what concerns me so much with dems, that the government just gets bigger and bigger to support all these programs. I think Dems have their hearts in the right place, but it only takes a few bad seeds to really start causing bad things to happen within a large government.

    If Obama had been libertarian? I’d be all “Whee yay!” But I didn’t really “love” either candidate.

    I do hope that this election helps to ease some of the racial tension. I live in the south. And in the south, racism cuts both ways. I sometimes get dirty looks from black people who have no reason to look at me dirty other than that I’m white and therefore supposedly privileged. I’m not really sure how to react to that.

    I guess they think my ancestors owned their ancestors, but that’s not actually how it went down. My ancestors were poor Irish immigrants, and there was a lot of racism against them as well in this country. They were for a long time fighting just as hard as the black people.

    But I don’t have an Irish brogue, and most of the Irish stuff has gone away, so now I’m just “the white enemy” to some people here.

    I wish the whole thing would go away.

  5. I just read what Obama plans to sign as soon as possible regarding women’s rights to choose. And THAT is something to be ecstatic about. I’ve always worried about abortion rights.

  6. Marcia, I stayed up all night watching the returns with my two daughters. We had an election party. I called my Mother in Virginia and she was crying. She didn’t think she would live to see a black man as in the White House.

    My youngest daughter asked me if, Obama’s daughter’s will get to live in the White House? I told her, yes they will sweetie.

    This is so, big on so many ways.

    Melissa NC:)

  7. Pingback: » Yes, We Can and We Did White House On Best Political Blogs: News And Info On White House

  8. And that’s the great thing about this election, Zoe. In my eyes, it does something for all minorities or anyone who’s ever felt oppression. If a Japanese person were the President, I’m sure there would be stories about the Japanese concentration camps during WWII and how this would be their vindication. That’s what it’s all about, too. One of the biggest stains on American History is racism. We’ve come a LONG way in just one night and opened a hangar-size door. Next step, a women in the White House. 🙂 Preferably someone who has some sense.

    If you’re living in the southern state that I think you are, it’s going to be hard because there is soooooooo much deep-seated racism there. And sad to say, I’m betting the reason why people give you those dirty looks is the same reason why a few white people here in NC have given me dirty looks. They don’t know me and they don’t know my background, so they make assumptions based on the sole fact that I’m black. You’re white, so it’s the reverse effect. Hopefully, in their pride, they realize that is NOT what Obama is about. Maybe they need a reminder. 😉

  9. BTW, where did you find the article about Obama’s views on abortion rights? I know my views on it, so I don’t really care what anyone else has to say who live outside my body. But I’d be curious to read it anyway.

  10. Melissa, it was definitely a family affair across the board. I thought I’d abstain from calling anyone, but I couldn’t resist. I called my mom and we weathered the results together. I’ll be visiting my family in upstate NY this weekend, so I can’t wait to talk to my grandmother about it. I remember her saying the night Clinton won, “Well, we got him, so that’s close enough.” Yeah. Right. We’re cooking with gas now. 😉

    This is so big that I can’t wait to see where we are in the first year.

  11. I hope it goes a long way toward mending race relations. I don’t know if I live in the southern state you think I do. I’m in TN, but I’m very close to the Georgia border and it’s a pretty small town. Not only that but it’s an ultraconservative town.

    On my blog there should be a link to a youtube video, it’s got a few soundbytes, and then there are other links on youtube as well. He wants to push FOCA through, which is the Freedom of Choice Act. It would overturn every single local and state law putting restrictions on abortions.

    I believe that it’s a “life” BUT I also believe that women should have choices and that abortion isn’t the worst thing a woman can do. The reason FOCA is important to me, is because it would mean that women aren’t being forcibly brainwashed by extreme conservatives with a religious ax to grind, nor do they have to go through a bunch of red tape that often makes the hassle great enough that by the time they do get the abortion, the fetus has grown a bit.

    I feel like if someone wants an abortion it’s best to do it as early as possible. There is less chance of trauma to both the fetus and the woman that way. Though I respect a woman’s right to take the time she needs to make the right decision for her.

    Obama is very very strongly for woman’s choice. And he respects that women dont’ flippantly choose to have an abortion. That women are responsible enough human beings to think it through.

    And when you think about it, when a group of (mostly men) can legally make a call over whether or not a woman can have an abortion, and what she has to go through in order to get it, it’s very condescending to her decision making abilities.

    One thing I find utterly bizarre though is that the ultra conservative fundamentalist christians are all pro-life. Why? According to their theology, unborn babies would go straight to heaven. Makes no sense to me. Why save a life when you can save a soul, guaranteed?

  12. I’m very much pro-choice, so that is a good thing to hear about Obama.

    My body, my choice. Simple as that. I have a problem with women who use it as a form of birth control, yes. But IMHO the reasons for keeping it legal outweigh the reasons for outlawing it. The day they make abortion illegal, is the day they need to force vasectomies on any man who doesn’t take full responsiblity for helping to create that life or if the conception is due to rape or incest. If the abortion is due to medial reasons, then that’s a no-brainer. That should be completely exempt. So the way I look at it, we’re at a stalemate on the issue. 😉

  13. Chiming in late – what can I say except “better late than never,” unless, of course, late comes with a dead rabbit.

    I’ve never felt so much hope and inspiration, thanks to Pres-Elect Obama. He’s shown that no bar is too high when heartfelt dreams are involved. Yes he can, and he did.

    This is the brightest and most relevant point in American history, bar none. I think this is a strong lesson in Karma – that the ugliness put out by the losing team returned to bite them in the ass.

    And finally, I believe that if there was a Jesus Christ, he’d have been exactly like Barack Obama.

    P.S. My father always said that if everyone were blind, everyone would be viewed equally. For the first time in my life I’m proud to live in this country.

  14. I think this is a strong lesson in Karma – that the ugliness put out by the losing team returned to bite them in the ass.

    So true! The average person isn’t as stupid as McCain would like to have believed. We have good sense when it comes to things that really matter to us and this election was it. We weren’t trying to decide between a pair of shoes or a purse. We were trying to figure out who was the best person qualified to help make the next four years of our lives less stifling than the last eight. If he had ran a campaign camparable to his concession speech, he might have actually one the presidency. So in the end, he screwed himself.

    I’ve got my fingers crossed that Obama will do a great job. It’ll be a hard one, no doubt, but I have a feeling we’ll be in a much better place than we are now. Judging from the results, I’m not the only one who believes that.

  15. OMG Marcia, last night I dreamed McCain won after all the votes were counted and the presidency got taken away from Obama (which I don’t think one can do after a concession speech anyway, but this was a dream) and it was AWFUL. Holy crap. I was freaked out about it.

    I wish I’d had this dream one day before the election haha. Though I have to say, my state would have gone to McCain anyway, but… I would have been able to vote.

  16. That wasn’t a dream, Zoe. That was a full-blown nightmare. 😉

    I thought NC would’ve gone to McCain because it hasn’t voted democrate since Carter. So for a few seconds, I thought, why waste my time? But then again, I’m glad I did. The race was so close to call that ever vote really mattered here. Well…sort of. Whether McCain wins it or not (and he’s not), Obama is still president and that’s good enough for me.

    Let the next four years be your guide. If you think Obama is the man for another term, then get your vote on, girl, to keep him there. 😉

Leave a Reply

