Playlists

I’m beginning to understand why people have playlists on their websites.  Since I’ve been writing TSIH, I’ve been listening to all sorts of music to pull out the drama and emotion that I need for a certain scenes.  So far, this is what I have:

Why – Annie Lennox

Silent Years – Tori Amos

True Colors – Cyndi Lauper

In the End – Linkin Park

Runaway Love – Ludacris (featuring Mary J. Blige)

Bring Me to Life – Evanescence

More Than A Woman – Aaliyah

Higher – Creed

Hand in My Pocket – Alanis Morissette

Ironic – Alanis Morissette

We Don’t Need Another Hero – Tina Turner

What’s Love Got to Do With It – Tina Turner

My Own Prison – Creed

Winter – Tori Amos

Crucify – Tori Amos

A Prayer for the Dying – Seal

Complicated – Avril Lavigne

I’m With You – Avril Lavigne

This is my heroine’s anthem. The Lost Boys fans will recognize it. 😉

I’m sure I’m missing an artist or two, but I’m not sweating it.  I like what I’ve got so far, even though it might seem a littel ecclectic.  As for what this says about TSIH, I don’t have a clue.  That’s why I don’t have a degree in psychology.  I doubt I would’ve made it to end without inspiration from these guys.  A huge thanks to each of you. 

So who strikes a cord with you when you’re writing?  Got any playlists to share?

6 thoughts on “Playlists

  1. The funny thing is I don’t normally listen to music either. I have the TV on and that’s about it. This was the first time music made me focus on my writing. I think it was because the words helped me come up with the idea I had for this story.

  2. I got play-lists-a-plenty for every manuscript I’ve scribed. Here’s a sample from one I call “The Color Sophie”:

    Consider Me Gone – Sting
    Stay or Leave – Dave Matthews
    Breathe Me In – Candlebox
    Somebody’s Baby- Jackson Browne
    Wild Horses – Charlotte Martin (I really LOVE that version!)

    Just a sampling – the list is enormous. Let me know if you want the CD…:)

  3. LOL!! I know you have a huge list, Kathy.

    I loooooove Dave Matthews. I’ve had Don’t Drink the Water on my mind for a long time and am trying to come up with a good story that fits the title.

    Is Wild Horses the same one sung by the Sundaes?

Leave a Reply

