The Day the Movie Stood Still

I know.  It’s Friday and I feel the urge to blog.  Don’t get too attached though.  I’m sticking to my original plan of blogging when I feel like it.  😉  After seeing the trailer for The Day the Earth Stood Still with Keanu Reeves playing the part, I felt compelled to talk about it. 

Unfortunately…I’m not a big fan of remakes because they rarely live up to the original.  When I saw the trailer for The Day the Earth Stood Still, I started wondering what movie that was.  In fact, I’m still wondering what movie that was.  If the trailer is any indication, I can already see a major flaw with the movie. 

In the original, there wasn’t an attack on the Earth, only the threat of it happening if we didn’t get our act together.  There was a test to convince mankind of the power the aliens had.  They killed the power throughout the world in a “Do you I have your attention now?” statement.  That was all.  In this day and age, I’d understand why the creators would have to upstage the original with something more vital than a power outage.  But based on what I saw, it looked like the aliens were out to destroy the earth until they got their boy toy back.  I know if it were me, I’d destroy to earth to get Keanu back.  😉  Unfortunately, getting Klaatu (Keanu) back has nothing to do with the original movie.

I have to wonder about the characters, too.  Will there be a giant robot named Gort?  I saw one at the very end of the trailer.  Hopefully, it’ll be a more promenant figure than that.  If so, I hope we have the famous line, “Gort!  Klaatu barada nikto!”  But after seeing what Hollywood did with other remakes, I’m pretty sure that line will be raked over the coals or sitting on the editing room floor.

So what does all this mean?  I don’t know yet because I’ve decided to cool my hopes for this being a good movie.  I LOVE old scary movies.  Are you kidding me?  The black & whites were the best because they were so doggone innovative and original at the time.  They came up with the fresh stuff that made me sizzle inside even as a child.  Perhaps that’s also why I’m such a HUGE Twilight Zone fan, too.  It’s all about orginality folks.  If you’re going to reinvent Cinderella, then you had better be careful of the line you walk.  Some of us like the original appeal, but what a bit of pizazz, too.  I suspect NY publishers are the same way when it comes to the retelling of an original.  Go for it, but make it special.  If you cross too far over the line, then you’re going to be preceived as a hair-brained schemist.

Anyone else for a remake?  If so, which movie would you like to see?

13 thoughts on “The Day the Movie Stood Still

  1. I never saw the original movie. This isn’t my type of entertainment. ENCHANTED was kind of a remake of Cinderella. I loved it!

    Here’s what I’d remake: OLD YELLER

    In my remake, Old Yeller lives!

  2. I can’t think of any movie I’d like to see as a remake because modern Hollywood has screwed up the majority of re-makes. (War of the Worlds? Ho-hum.)

    Now if they could make a sequel to the original “Day the Earth Stood Still”. as in Gort and Klaatu returning to make good on their threat, THAT’d be worthy of my time, like “Enchanted” which I didn’t see, but the trailers made it appear more like a “what if” as in “what if the characters crossed some time continuum?” That was FRESH, not another tired retread.

    Which is how I like my reads – a totally different twist to a tired old situation.

  3. Wow, I’m a big fan of the original The Day the Earth Stood Still. Hope the remake is as good. I really liked The Invasion, which was a remake of Invasion of the Body Snatchers. Could it be because Daniel Craig was a lead? Nah… In any case, I liked that The Invasion was way more intense than the original, and I liked that the end was happier than the original, but that could just be the romance fan in me showing. I agree, though, that War of the Worlds was definitely hohum, Kathy.

  4. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Enchanted, Edie. I saw parts of it on a plane while flying back from the west coast, but I fell asleep. I’m still kicking myself for that.

    Old Yeller would be an awesome remake. Only, I hope they leave the CGI behind.

  5. Kathy, you saw The Invasion? Crap! I saw the previews and stayed so far away from it that I’d need a compass to find it again. I LOVED the original Invasion of the Body Snatchers and even the one with Donald Sutherland. I guess this means I’m making a DVD run today. 😉

    I feel the same way about War of the Worlds. It was…okay. I like Tom Cruise, but his movie choices have been dwindling on the rating scale lately.

  6. Oops. That’s what I get for not having my coffee yet and still feeling the effects of a 70’s Disco Party I went to last night. That comment was meant for Sonja. 😕

  7. The REAL Kathy, 🙂 That would be a VERY cool idea. If this remake of The Day the Earth Stood Still turns out to be that “years later” movie, then I am so sold.

    I guess this means I’m going to have to pick up Enchanted DVD at Block buster. Everyone I’ve talked to who’ve seen it can’t say enough good things about it. And since it looks like to have succeeded on bringing Cinderella into the 21st century, that makes it all the more intriguing. I’ve seen a lot of movies that do that Cinderella thing and none of them have the magic that the original had. Enchanted seems to be the one.

    Once again War of the Worlds…not impressed. This movie definiately needed that fresh twist to make it stand out. Otherwise, they’ve wasted millions of dollars putting together garbage people aren’t going to see.

  8. Blood and Chocolate. yeah, it’s still a fairly new movie, (last few years), but…THEY MESSED IT UP.

    It’s not even the same story and they turned the hero into the villain. They took a beautiful book and butchered it. The author was gracious about it, but her novel was raped and I was really mad about it. I’m not sure what demographic the studio was trying to reach. Certainly not the fans of the book.

  9. Zoe, words cannot explain how pissed I am about Blood and Chocolate. There isn’t enough blog space on the entire internet that can hold my wraith. All they did was take the names from the book and passed it off as the real thing when it had NOTHING to do the original story. The film makers should’ve been whopped upside the head with the real Blood and Chocolate until they got it through their thick skulls.

  10. Hi there! I’m chatting with your buddy Chris down the hall — you should come to Montreal in 2009…. and in 2010 since worldCon is going overseas there will be a NASFIC and Raleigh is running for the right to hold it.

    Tell Chris to tell you the funnier Vaughn stories. And there’s even more.

  11. EXACTLY! THey bought rights to character names, the “werewolf concept” and the book title name. Seriously, was that worth buying movie rights for? Why do a novel that way? I would be damn specific in a movie rights contract. It’s one thing for a movie to be Adapted and be “slightly different” it’s another thing for someone to come in using my work title to create their fanfic movie.

    And that’s what B&C was as a movie. Fanfic. Because it surely didn’t represent the actual novel.

  12. Ruth, are you sh**ing me?! A NASFIC?! Oh man, I am soooooo there!! If you come, we definitely have to go for drinks for dinner or something. I want to hear all about WorldCon, you lucky stiff. 😉 I’ve always wanted to go, but never got the chance. DragonCon is is close as I’ve gotten…so far.

  13. Oh my gosh, Zoe, you hit the nail on the head. Fanfic was exactly what Blood and Chocolate was. Why pay millions of dollars to come up with a piece of fanfic for the big screen when they could’ve unloaded that piece of crap for a lot less on someone’s blog?

    That’s one of the big things I worry about when it comes to adapting books to movies. Though I understand they can’t do everything, they could at least make sure they hit the main spots of the book and try to get it somewhat right. There’s a reason why that book is as great as it is. Why mess with a great thing??

Leave a Reply

