UPDATE Review: the Double Power (DoPo) Tabl​et…Sort of

I wouldn’t normally do an updated review of anything unless there was an extreme need for it.  Trust me, there is a need for it when it comes to the Double Power tablet.  And believe it or not, it’s not the tablet that pissed me off.

So as the story goes, I highly recommend the DoPo MD-702 in a previous post.  In fact,  I loved it so much that I bought two MD-702 (Android 2.3) and a T-708 (Android 4.0).  My daughter came up to me one day and said she couldn’t get her MD-702 to come on.  So, I took a look at it.  I couldn’t get it to come on the usual way, so I inserted a pin to reboot it to come on.  It did.  Unfortunately, when it got the Android screen, it died.  Thinking it was a fluke, I tried it again.  And again.  And again.  At this point, I knew something was wrong.  So, I called customer service.

The folks at customer service said this was a common problem and that I needed to pay a $50 service fee to send it back.  Keep in mind that the $50 bucks was because I owned the tablet was beyond the 90-day warranty.  So, I didn’t see the harm because I only paid the $138 for it.  I sent it off, they fixed it, and sent it back.  Not only that, but I also learned that this apparently a common problem among the MD-702′s.

I hadn’t even had the damn thing for a week before it started doing the same thing again.  Whatever fix they administered, it didn’t take.  Furious, I reached out to customer service again and asked is there a warranty on their so-called fix because there was no way I was paying another $50 to ship this thing out again.   Customer service sounded extremely disappointed about the situation and agreed to send me a shipping label so I wouldn’t have to pay for it.  Keep in mind this happened back on August 21, 2012 and I have the email to prove it.

It’s been officially two months and nothing has happened.  :mad:  Companies say it costs them 6x as much to find a customer than it is to keep one.  My only guess is that the DoPo people must be rolling in enough dough not to care about losing a few to the growing mini tablet market.  I’ll be testing that theory when I’m ready to buy my next one.

So, yes!  I was upset that the tablet had stopped working and was willing to chalk it up as these things will happen.  It’s technology, and I know enough about it that there are always flukes on the assembly line.  However, the lack of customer service followthrough has left me more pissed off than the actual tablet itself.

Luckily, I still have one MD-702 that works and a T-708 that’s actually nicer than its predecessor.  But given what I’ve been through, I’m extremely hesitant about recommending the T-708.  It can be a great tablet when it works, but a piece of crap if it malfunctions and you can’t get the company to fix it.

So, if you’re in the market for a T-708, do yourself a favor by purchasing a service agreement with it.  You’ll save yourself the headache and possibly a $50 service fee from a company where customer satisfaction ranks as high as gum stuck to the bottom of your shoe.

DoPo Customer Service: 0 out of 5 stars

If I get a response, I’ll revisit this post

 

10 thoughts on “UPDATE Review: the Double Power (DoPo) Tabl​et…Sort of

  1. So, they never sent you the shipping label? If they knew it was a common problem why didn’t they offer a fix for their customers, free of charge? That’s what most decent companies do. Especially if they want to stay in business and have return customers.

    I am thinking of buying the Kindle Fire. They have it now for $150 at Staples here locally.

  2. Wendy Bonek says:

    i purchased 3 DOPO t711 for my daughters. i have had the same problem. and customer service is very rude about it!

  3. Heather Cantrell says:

    I’ve had the same problem. They’ve had 2 of the 3 I purchased since April. They say they left a message, and they can prove it because they wrote it down…..I never received a message, and, in fact, I’ve left 2 messages with them since the one that they supposedly left me. Today, I actually got someone who all but called me a liar and said either I could pay them $40 to fix one or they could send it back broken (the other they actually fixed and have been holding hostage since April). I’M INFURIATED!!! A waste of money. Buy any brand but this one!!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Same thing happened to me. I was thinking of buying three for Xmas as gifts so glad I didnt

    • tess says:

      The charges in the dopo td-1010 are horrible i have purchased three and none of them connect well enough to give the table a full charge. its seems to be a common problem with the tablet. Rude service

  5. Anonymous says:

    I bought the M980K but I bought a 3 year warranty from SquareTrade. They cover anything, even if it’s my fault. I’ve heard nothing but good things about them. I only pd.$90 for my tablet and the insurance was $20 for 2 yrs and $35 for 3 years. Those prices vary a bit by the price range of the tablet.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I bought the EM-63. 8GB at thanksgiving. a few weeks later, it would not power up without the power supply attached. I wrote them and got an RMA and paid $8 out of pocket to ship it to them. I received it back 2 weeks later with the problem unfixed and packed poorly.
    I notified them immediately and they have done nothing.
    This was a couple weeks ago. Now it won’t come on at all.
    THEY WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS.
    DO NOT SUPPORT THIS DISTRIBUTOR OF JUNK

  7. We bought 3 for Christmas. Every single one has broken. One of them was broken by a baby who was 7 months and 11 pounds patting the screen, definitely not hitting hard. Not only do they shut off anytime they want, but they break really easily. Our Kindle Fire, has been dropped tapped the same way and doesn’t even falter. The dopo’s are just crap.

  8. Anonymous says:

    I bought a Dupo for my husband Dec of 2011 and he barely used it, then one day(2/10/14) he tried to turn it on and it wouldn’t work so we called and emailed and left several messages. When we finally got in touch with them, they asked if we had tried resetting it, and yes we said. They said we would have to send it in and pay for shipping both ways and 50 dollars to repair, I only paid $100, why would I pay for them to fix, if its not guaranted. They don’t care about about producing a good product allthey care about is making a profit!! Do not buy a DUPO!!

  9. jess says:

    I have read many complaints about Dopo Tablets. The power stops working. My TD 1010 power quit soon after 90 day warranty. Dopo wanted $80 to fix it. This is not a reliable product to buy. :(

Leave a Reply

